TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-Jan-2013, 5:16 PM   #1
Dinesh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Grounding Question

Do I need to ground the coax cable in addition to grounding the Antenna mast? Someone told me that grounding the antenna is enough, but I wanted a confirmation from the experts here.

Thanks,
Dinesh.
Dinesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Jan-2013, 7:42 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,758
Briefly, yes, I think it's wise to ground both the antenna mast and the coax shield.

Many installations fail to include any attempt to ground either the mast or coax shield. Until there is a static buildup or electrical fault, their reception is fine, but that's not the purpose of grounding.

Here is my opinion about the subject: http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=901
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Jan-2013, 8:30 PM   #3
Dinesh
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 18
Thank you GroundUrMast. I appreciate your input.

Dinesh.
Dinesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC