TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-Aug-2019, 2:26 AM   #21
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Got a couple of questions. I going to include pics. What type of coaxial cable do i have. Can't make it out. Also is that the right place for it. on the window and is the shades ok or will it cause problems. I need the shades down at night.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0119.JPG (421.9 KB, 144 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0118.JPG (442.0 KB, 144 views)
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 2:38 AM   #22
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,758
If the shades are plastic they will have no significant effect on the antenna performance. If they are metallic they will have quite a bit of effect which will be frequency dependent. If the distance between the antenna and metal shade is just right, you may actually get a small boost in directional gain. If the spacing is too close or too far, you would expect reduced antenna performance.

The coax may be RG6 but I can't be certain.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 2:43 AM   #23
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
The shades are plastic from what i can tell. Thank you for the reply.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 3:15 AM   #24
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
The Flex comes with a 3' RG6 coax that is to go between the antenna and the included inline amp as well as a 12' RG59 to go from the amp to the TV (or wherever).
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 3:33 AM   #25
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
I'm not using the coax cable that came with the flex. I'm using the one i had before. i believe it 50 Ft Coax Cable that i bought at walmart a while ago.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 3:51 AM   #26
OTAFAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 190
Quote:
i believe it 50 Ft Coax Cable that i bought at walmart a while ago.
Just my 2 cents.

I would either use what came with your Flex, or replace it with a short RG6 jumper, say 15' or so. That way you minimize interference and maximize reception for your TV frequencies.

You can pick up a jumper of the size you need at your Walmart or big box stores or something like this from Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005NHIVO2...ter_B0787JNNXH

Either way the cost is minimal.

Here's an article on the difference between RG59 and RG6 that may be helpful:

https://sewelldirect.com/blogs/learn...n-rg59-and-rg6

Last edited by OTAFAN; 12-Aug-2019 at 3:57 AM. Reason: additional
OTAFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2019, 3:55 AM   #27
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
I will check that out down the road.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Aug-2019, 5:11 AM   #28
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Just wanted to give you guys a head up. The Sure Grip that came with the flex i had to take off. As it was wearing out. So i put some masking tape on the flex and window and that work out great for me. Also all channels still come in clear in morning, afternoon and evening. I also replace my 50 feet cable with a 15 feet cable. the 50 feet one was rg6. I got a 15 feet rg6 onn one. It working so far.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Aug-2019, 5:10 PM   #29
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
The strips don't really "wear out". They do, however, pickup up any dirt, dust or lint that happens to be on the surface where it's placed. Eventually, they pick up enough that there's no more stickiness left. Remember the silicone "Wacky Wall Walker" toys? Same stuff, same issue. You can usually clean them and somewhat restore their function but eventually, they'll need to be replaced if you do a lot of moving of the antenna.

Anyway, contact customer service and we'll get a replacement strip sent out. See the contact address in my signature below.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Nov-2019, 1:20 AM   #30
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Just to give you guys a update. I can now get 36 channels to come in on my antenna and everyone is coming in clear. So i love this antenna direct product. I'm not worry about the channels from IDS tower in Minneapolis. I love to get those. but won't worry about those.

Last edited by Gophers; 4-Nov-2019 at 1:40 AM.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Nov-2019, 4:43 AM   #31
OTAFAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 190
Quote:
I'm not worry about the channels from IDS tower in Minneapolis. I love to get those.
Hi Again Gophers!

Good to hear about your updated report. Glad your Antennas Direct Flex is working for you.

What are those channels from the IDS tower in Minneapolis you might like to receive? Perhaps someone here on TV Fool would have an idea on how to catch those signals.

All the best.....
OTAFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Nov-2019, 11:41 PM   #32
Gophers
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Those are low power channels. They are K33LN-D.

They have


33.1 Bounce TV
33.2 Court TV Mystery
33.3 Laff
33.4 Cozi TV
33.5 CBN News
33.6 3ABN
33.7 Grit

I know i most likely would need a outdoor antenna. But i'm not worry about getting those.
Gophers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 2:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC