TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-Apr-2019, 2:30 AM   #1
BigLou80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Looking for ideas

I am looking for ideas on why I am not getting WTIC on the attached TV fool report. It would seem like there is plenty of signal to receive it without a preamp which I eliminated due to suspected over amplification on wggb and WGBY which are less than 4 miles away.

The new clear stream 2v max is pointed as close to 215 magnetic as I could get

On a side note I'd be happy to hear anyone's thoughts on getting channel 10 listed on the report
BigLou80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 10:44 AM   #2
BigLou80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
since the image never uploaded from my phone
:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...903857de89ba45
BigLou80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 12:31 PM   #3
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigLou80 View Post
I am looking for ideas on why I am not getting WTIC on the attached TV fool report. It would seem like there is plenty of signal to receive it without a preamp which I eliminated due to suspected over amplification on wggb and WGBY which are less than 4 miles away.
Hello, BigLou80; welcome to the forum.

Thank you for the link to your signal report.

Yes, WGGB and WGBY are strong enough to cause overload; you can't use a preamp.

WTIC is moving from real channel 31 to channel 34 during Phase 4 of FCC Repack, 6/22/2019 to 8/2/2019
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WTIC

Repack Plan
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=

https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ition-schedule

It is possible that they are running at reduced power because of antenna work; they do have temporary authorization for that:
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...tems&facid=147

You could call the WTIC station engineer and ask him.
Quote:
On a side note I'd be happy to hear anyone's thoughts on getting channel 10 listed on the report
What is the callsign, WTNH?

TVFool is using a defective database to generate reports. A report from rabbitears.info should have a more accurate list of channels:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg BigLou80TVFreportRE.JPG (180.5 KB, 472 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Apr-2019 at 12:44 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 2:04 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Depends on which "channel 10" you're looking for. There's a faulty entry for a virtual channel 10.1 on your report (WHTX-LD, correct virtual channel is 43.1) and a real channel 10 (WTNH/WCTX, virtual channel 8.x/59.x) which is likely not receivable at your location without extraordinary effort.


WTIC is currently operating at reduced power from an auxiliary antenna lower down on their tower while the main antennas up top are being replaced/rebuilt. This will cause a marked reduction in their coverage area.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 22-Apr-2019 at 2:10 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 3:18 PM   #5
BigLou80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks for the info in wtic operating at reduced power. That would explain why it suddenly went missing. I will just wait and see
BigLou80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 4:10 PM   #6
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,165
For all those like me who want to see it for real:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRNBQe_ZOm8
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 9:09 PM   #7
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
For all those like me who want to see it for real:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRNBQe_ZOm8
Neat!

Thank you.

How much RF exposure can the workers tolerate without harm?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Farmington Antenna Lift 32-30_1.jpg (64.8 KB, 129 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Apr-2019 at 9:18 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 9:37 PM   #8
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,165
Exposure to high RF fields causes warming of the body, just like being in a microwave oven. In this case the stations are operating at about 25% power in a temporary antenna that is 164’ lower on the tower. The workers are exposed to high RF as they climb past the temporary side-mount antenna. The side mount antenna is directional, with reduced power toward the elevator. There are five ways to stay safe; ride the elevator past the antenna quickly without stopping, equip the elevator with a faraday shield to reduce the signal inside the elevator, wear an RF suit that shields the body from the RF, ride up the rigging cable passing the antenna quickly, and/or temporarily lower the power of the transmitter.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 10:46 PM   #9
BigLou80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
For all those like me who want to see it for real:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRNBQe_ZOm8
Brings new meaning to the words "changing the channel"
BigLou80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 11:29 PM   #10
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
Exposure to high RF fields causes warming of the body, just like being in a microwave oven.
Thank you for the details. I felt the warming when I was too close to my 14 MHz mobile antenna at 100W.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Apr-2019, 11:54 PM   #11
BigLou80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Hello, BigLou80; welcome to the forum.

Thank you for the link to your signal report.

Yes, WGGB and WGBY are strong enough to cause overload; you can't use a preamp.

WTIC is moving from real channel 31 to channel 34 during Phase 4 of FCC Repack, 6/22/2019 to 8/2/2019
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WTIC

Repack Plan
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=

https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ition-schedule

It is possible that they are running at reduced power because of antenna work; they do have temporary authorization for that:
https://www.rabbitears.info/tvq.php?...tems&facid=147

You could call the WTIC station engineer and ask him.
What is the callsign, WTNH?

TVFool is using a defective database to generate reports. A report from rabbitears.info should have a more accurate list of channels:

I finally had some time to check out rabbitears.info . That site has a much more useful way of presenting the data and will be my go to from now on
BigLou80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Apr-2019, 1:32 AM   #12
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,165
I like the post repack search feature on rabbitears.info.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Apr-2019, 8:20 PM   #13
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
Exposure to high RF fields causes warming of the body, just like being in a microwave oven. In this case the stations are operating at about 25% power in a temporary antenna that is 164’ lower on the tower.
Another interesting tower story:

TVTechnology
It’s the Repack—Scoot Over!
A look at a repack project from a TV engineer's perspective.
By John Marcon
Apr 22, 2019
https://www.tvtechnology.com/repack/...ack-scoot-over
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Apr-2019, 9:20 PM   #14
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Another interesting tower story:
TVTechnology
👍

Very good insight.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC