TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-Oct-2011, 4:38 AM   #1
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Please delete

What antenna setup do I need?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...60b5eebab108bc

4 tvs off a away splitter. Approx 160 ft of coax

Last edited by Nor7cal7; 18-Oct-2011 at 4:43 PM.
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 8:36 AM   #2
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Tv Antennas and Reception

What is the cheapo radio shack antenna?? You say the 4 tv's are connected??
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 4:36 PM   #3
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
this is the one i have

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3730720

yes i run 4 tvs. well 2 at thew moment but i have all 4 rooms wired. the antenna coax runs down to the other side of my house, down the eve into the telephone/cable box near my electrical panel. inside the cable electrical panel is where the the cale come from all 4 rooms. All the rooms were hard wired when i the house was built in 2006. i ran the antenna coax to the inline amp, then the amp to the 4 way splitter and connected all the rooms.
----------->
antenna ----------->in line powered amp----->4 way splitter----------->
roof 50ft ----------->
----------->

there is a grounding block from the cable guy in the cable panel. how do i ground for lightning and surges to?
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 4:45 PM   #4
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Also, should i run a 14g copperwire from somewhere on the mast straight down to a steel stake in the ground for a ground for lightnign and also how would i ground a groundiung block there is one in the cable panel alreadyf romt he old cable i had i think

Last edited by mtownsend; 17-Oct-2011 at 6:55 AM. Reason: Edited to remove duplicated information
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 5:35 PM   #5
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
update:

So i disconnected the 4 way splitter and just ran the antenna coax tot he amp to my living room coax. the picture hasn't cut out once, i get all the channels except 12-1 12-2 (also 43-3 43-4) seems to be off air or something. anyway. To me this would indicate that the 4 way is interfering with my reception and i am losing db's? So would a 4 way amp help so i could have all 4 hooked up? Also i believe i have over -20db loss with the long cable run, splitter and the long cables going to the tv's.
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 6:37 PM   #6
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Tv Antennas and Reception

I recommend a Winegard HD7000R antenna with a Antennas Direct PA-18 preamp aimed at about 186 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. The 2 groups of tv stations are 117 degrees apart , thats a real wide streach for a directional antenna to receive. The HD7000R antenna is aimed at KMCA channel 10 http://www.americaone.com that is a weak channel in between the 2 groups of stations. Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com , http://www.starkelectronic.com , http://www.3starinc.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.antennasdirect.com
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 6:44 PM   #7
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Tv Antennas and Reception

Is KMCA being received with your current set up??
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 11:11 PM   #8
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
http://electronics.become.com/radios...--sc1309857180

That's the antenna I have. I rigged it to mount onto a mast.

Also I do not get that channel you asked about. I will try your recommendation thank you.
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 11:22 PM   #9
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
I dont get kmca.

Last edited by mtownsend; 17-Oct-2011 at 6:55 AM. Reason: Edited to remove duplicated information
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Oct-2011, 11:24 PM   #10
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Don't get kmca currently.

I have a radio shack small flat Indoor outdoor antenna. Plastic. With that ore amp do I still run a 4 way amplified distributer?
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Oct-2011, 2:53 AM   #11
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Tv Antennas and Reception

Install the HD7000R antenna and the PA-18 preamp , and the 4 way splitter. If KMCA is not received with 4 tv's connected then remove the 4 way splitter and install a Channelmaster CM3414 distribution amplifier. The CM3414 is not an automatic install , it is only installed if it needs to be.
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Oct-2011, 3:11 AM   #12
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Ok one last question I did the calculation for my db loss. With 75 ft of coax from antenna to splitter thus about -6db loss+ 4 way splitter is -7.5db loss plus roughly 140 ft of coax To the 4 tvs is -8db loss so I calculate approx -21.5 db loss. Is that the right pre amp to have? Thank you dimming for your help sir
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Oct-2011, 1:55 PM   #13
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
The PA18 will overload in this location. Select the CPA19 instead.

There is no need for an all-channel antenna in this location unless you really want Daystar, the only programing that is unique to the low-VHF band in this area.

You'd do best to first investigate the fare available separately from the Chico or the Redding locations and determine of you want both or only one of those markets. Only then can an informed recommendation be made based on YOUR requirements.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 17-Oct-2011 at 2:03 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Oct-2011, 4:12 PM   #14
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
I basically jus want to receive the basic network channels abc, PBS, CBS, fox etc which I already am with my current setup but not when I throw in the splitter. Fox 20.1 and 24.1 nb will glitch when I throw the splitter on. Here's my updated digital only tvfool map

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...60b5b0ccaf855a

Basically just want everything from krcr-dt down to Kmca 50.1 I guess. I get most of those already without the splitter so should I just run a distribution amp?
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Oct-2011, 4:45 PM   #15
Nor7cal7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
So I decided i want to mount the antenna with a pole onto my eve. Is the winegard hd700r the right antenna. It says it only goes 40 miles. My stations are 60 in sone spots? Any othe antenna and Orr amp recommendations John or adt?
Nor7cal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Oct-2011, 6:54 PM   #16
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,758
The optimistic approach would be to install one antenna with a wide forward beam (such as the HD7000R) hoping to see both Redding and Chico. The CPA-19 is the better choice of preamp in your situation. Mileage ratings are less helpful than reasonably accurate gain figures... read through the forum threads for more thoughts and explanation re. mileage ratings. I believe the HD7000R and CPA-19 would be an improvement over the RS antenna but the extreme angle between the Chico and Redding transmitters worries me.

If that doesn't work well, you're faced with choosing from:

1) A larger (more directional) antenna on a rotator. This is often frustrating to anyone other than the viewer with control of the rotator. Many TV's will only display channels detected during a setup scan and will 'forget' the previous channels each time you re-scan. This can make using a rotator very frustrating.

2) Multiple antennas. This would require cabling each antenna separately to each TV. You can use an A/B switch at each set to select the desired antenna, but this will be problematic for sets that lack the ability to scan for or add additional channels.

3) Multiple antennas with an additional set-top-box tuner. SD tuners are fairly cheap. HD tuners cost a bit more... Channel Master and Pico Macom are a couple of examples of HD capable STBs. With one antenna feeding the existing TV tuner and the second antenna feeding the STB, the TV remote will usually let you select the HDMI or video input of the TV.

If I were in your situation, I'd go with a multiple antenna install. I'd point a Winegard HD7694P at about 245 and a another Winegard HD7694P pointed at about 130. I'd mount the antennas separately, at least 8' apart. Again, the CPA-19 preamp would be a good choice for each antenna.

Re. grounding: http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=901
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC