TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9-Dec-2015, 9:17 PM   #1
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
New Antenna Install

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97d126f84a8a3

I am installing an antenna for my father in law during Christmas. I am using a clearstream 4v antenna. I will be installing 15ft above ground, but in a very hilly landscape. The immediate view is clear other than the rolling hills. Do you think I will have any luck?
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 2:10 AM   #2
MikeBear
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Mid-Michigan - Retired on Beta Omicron Delta III
Posts: 76
Looks to me like you need a zero at the end of your 15 ft.

That's not a good Tvfool report, so I wouldn't get my hopes up too high.

I'm sure you'll get something, but what, and how good are the real questions...
MikeBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 2:45 AM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
If you can send me the precise GPS coordinates of his rooftop via PM, I can take an in-depth look at it.

I have attached the instructions I use for folks who contact us directly.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GPS Coordinates_v2.pdf (295.8 KB, 269 views)
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 4:43 AM   #4
ZippyTheChicken
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by handaspencer View Post
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97d126f84a8a3

I am installing an antenna for my father in law during Christmas. I am using a clearstream 4v antenna. I will be installing 15ft above ground, but in a very hilly landscape. The immediate view is clear other than the rolling hills. Do you think I will have any luck?
ok i also have a clearstream 4v and crappy signals like you do.

The PBS channel that is 10 miles away is to the south
The other better stations are to the northeast

If I was you I would point the Antenna at 78 or maybe 82 or so to pick up those stations. Use a compass .. targeting stations can be intricate so expect to do a bunch of adjustments and rescans... give yourself a full afternoon.

You are going to need an amplifier and I would suggest the Channel Master 7777 because its 30DB .. well its sold as 30 but .. anyway its a good amp and probably the strongest you will find for the price.

ChannelMaster has a Recertified Open Box account on ebay but you pay shipping.. figure $50 for the preamp i guess.

and if you have a lot of tvs in the house you might need a distribution amp .. A PCT 8 port will cancel out loss due to cable length.. anything any stronger might be too much but don't go below a 4way PCT distribution amp.

You should be able to get everything down to wvbp MAYBE..

But you got to get that antenna up as high as you can and in the least obstructions.. but test it with the preamp on it in the house.. pointed at 80 or so and I bet you get at least half a dozen stations .. and those stations will have sub stations so you might end up with twice that.

Good Luck and remember point it away from that top PBS station .. odds are even pointed away you will pick it up.. even without the preamp
ZippyTheChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 12:08 PM   #5
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
You are going to need an amplifier and I would suggest the Channel Master 7777 because its 30DB .. well its sold as 30 but .. anyway its a good amp and probably the strongest you will find for the price.
Do NOT buy the CM7777, the 30 dB gain is too much. We get calls to US almost every day from people who install it with one of our antennas and they call US for help. That amp should be sold by prescription only. It should NOT be bought just because of its high gain advertisement UNLESS all signals are weak AND there is an extensive distribution system of cabling and splitters whose insertion loss must be overcome.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 4:31 PM   #6
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97dc4cd9b568a

I have posted a new report with exact gps coordinates. I am afraid I am in trouble.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 7:07 PM   #7
Jake V
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Virginia!
Posts: 328
Your report is not promising. But it is only at 15 feet. Try making one at 25, 50 and 75 feet. [Yes, you would not go that high but it does provide useful information.]
Jake V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2015, 7:56 PM   #8
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97dddc1876ccb

Not much change until about 75ft in the air. The location is at a bottom of the hill, playing with around different gps coordinates if I ran it up to the top of the hill about 300 ft. get a nice report also.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 3:16 AM   #9
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
With the report of the exact coordinates, do I have any chance at all for the 4 major networks? I already have the rca pre-amp.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 12:11 PM   #10
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Send the coordinates as requested and I'll look at it. The plot is only a very small part of what I look at.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 1:27 PM   #11
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
38.330365
-83.300215
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 2:44 PM   #12
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Okay, several ideas and observations:

Charleston WV is out of the picture. That site is on the back slope of an 80' hill with trees, the signals from the east either will never make it or will be unreliable.

A number of the Lexington stations should be receivable most of the time if you can do all of the following:

1. Skip the C4V, go to either the DB8E (preferred) or the 91XG (2nd choice) aimed at heading 245 true.

2. Select a mounting location (the one presented is unsuitable due to trees) that is completely free of trees in the direction indicated +/- 20 on either side. You may need to do some tree trimming, use additional height, or put the darned thing on a pole out in a field to achieve this. You may need to experiment with both location and height, your first choice may or may not work out.

3. You do need a preamp, but do SKIP the CM7777 for the reasons stated above. Our JUICE is suitable for this location, the PA18 is not.

This should net 6 or 7 stations with a total of 15-18 total channels with better than 95% reliability.

This is a "tough but not impossible" location, patience and planning are called for.

You could add a rotor and he can play with the aim of the antenna. I'd expect some reception from Cincinnati OH and Kingsport TN to be possible much of the time.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 11-Dec-2015 at 2:47 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 4:46 PM   #13
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,544
TV signal report
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97dbabf1b8bcb

FM signal report
http://www.fmfool.com/modeling/tmp/b...b/Radar-FM.png
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 5:12 PM   #14
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
I believe I have done this backwards. I bought the clearstream 4v a couple weeks ago and also the audiovox rca tvprampier signal amplifier. I should have sent you my report first, I am a little stuck. Am I wasting my time proceeding with the 4v and rca amp? Should I see if they will take everything back and go with the suggested direction?
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 6:57 PM   #15
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
My suggestions is to either go big or don't go at all.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 7:31 PM   #16
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
thank you for your honesty. If I get the juice and the db8e or 91xg with a rotor. Would I be able to get the 4 major networks from Lexington with proper location? I am limited on the ability to increase the height, 25ft would be about my max.

Last edited by handaspencer; 11-Dec-2015 at 8:59 PM.
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2015, 11:16 PM   #17
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Probably, most of the time. May take extra work, we're working with signals that are calculated to be about at "dirt-level".
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Dec-2015, 5:18 PM   #18
handaspencer
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 36
One other option, if I go to the top of the hill I have a great report. Problem is I need to run 400ft of coax. I know I will lose a lot of signal but is it possible?

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97d042231ef0f
handaspencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Dec-2015, 5:39 PM   #19
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Yes, it's possible. You would also need to accommodate an appropriate preamp which must be powered.

RG11 is the most feasible coax to use, much lower attenuation loss than RG6 at about 55-60% of RG6's loss. 400' of RG6 should max out at around 13-14 dB insertion loss at 700 MHz. Problem is, it's expensive, a PITA to work with, and you'd likely need to install your own connectors which means an expensive tool for a one-time use.

Realistically, you'd be looking at a $300-400 up front expense to run it that extra distance.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC