TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 17-Feb-2010, 6:22 PM   #1
Birddog

Signal Source

I'm a Noob here and am a little perplexed.
Here is my report http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...27eed9df526c02

This a vacation property and I am located in a low area surrounded by Pine trees. My mast is only about 20' tall and is definitely below the tops of the surrounding trees many of which are in line of sight. I have a 20 year old UHF above a VHF antenna, not sure of brand, but probably best you could buy back then. I haven't much depended on a strong signal from the antenna, because I rely on Satellite. In the past, I've just done without locals.
I just switched over to an HD set and HD Satellite programming and thought I'd do a channel search and to my surprise I'm getting a very strong signal with excellent picture on 4 channels off air.
Here is the line up of off air channels.
2.1 KASA DT (FOX)*
7.1 KOAT DT (ABC)
7.2 KOAT ET (ABC) (Spanish programming)
13.1 KRQE DT (CBS)*
28.0 KNME NTSC (PBS)
30.0 KOB NTSC (NBC)
48.0 KOB NTSC (NBC)**
*= signal not always received sometimes mosaic
**= not really watchable unless desperate

I can't figure out the source of the strong signal and none of my neighbors know anything as they receive locals off satellite. I understand the 28 through 48 are coming off the translators, what could be the source of the others?
On another older set with converter, I receive only 2.1, 7.1 and 7.2.
TIA,
Birddog
Birddog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2010, 1:53 AM   #2
mtownsend

Hello and welcome!

Your tvfool report was only resolved to a city level. Since your area is surrounded by mountains, it's really important to get a more accurate analysis for the location of your house. The generic city-level analysis might not show the same results as your true location.