TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-Oct-2013, 5:03 AM   #1
ohazco
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11
More Advice

Been running great for a year now thanks to everyone's advice. Back for more, this time for a co-worker. He gets the local ABC, CBS, and PBS with rabbit ears but would like to have one centralized antenna (will put on existing tower with non-functioning antenna) and also at least add NBC (12), it looks like Denver translators are out of range for him. I know I can find a vhf antenna and pre-amp to get 12, but I don't know how it works looking right past a much more powerful 10. Advice? Thanks again!

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46aea6d53a36d1

Last edited by ohazco; 18-Oct-2013 at 5:07 AM.
ohazco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Oct-2013, 7:34 AM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Trying for KSNK, real CH-12 would call for an Antennacraft Y10713. As you have already concluded, the task is made more difficult given the powerful signal on CH-10 which limits you to using a preamplifier that has the ability to tolerate strong input levels. You could try an RCA TVPRAMP1R though I think you'll find it to be at the edge of overloading. I've used a Channel Master CM-3410 + PCTMPI1G power inserter in this sort of situation, you also need to use a weather proof enclosure on the mast to protect the amplifier unit. In the end, you need some good fortune to pull this off.

If the single Y10713 and preamp failed, I would also consider a stacked pair of Y10713's as a 'back-up' plan. This would certainly be an experimental project. http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=1024 I might contact tinllee.com and ask their opinion about a preselector filter also.

The two UHF signals should be an easy 'get'. I'd use a DB2e... Though the DB4e would not be overkill.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 18-Oct-2013 at 7:37 AM. Reason: preselector filter
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC