TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-Oct-2013, 6:02 AM   #1
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Help With Antenna Choice

Hi, I am a novice. I was wondering the best antenna for my location. I was looking at the Winegard 8200 after looking through some posts here but I am still uncertain. I can also use advice about preamp, cables, splitters, ect... Here is my report for location:





Thanks for all advice.

Last edited by Twisty; 31-Oct-2013 at 2:32 AM. Reason: remove address
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Oct-2013, 6:41 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,740
Your TV Fool report appears to be based on the default antenna height of 10' AGL. The path profiles suggest that you are blocked by terrain to the west. It would be interesting to see a TVFR based on 25' AGL and another based on 50' AGL.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Oct-2013, 8:19 PM   #3
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Pratical and Useful Information.

The tvfool report is at the default 10 feet antenna height above ground.

So that I can provide a Correct recommendation.

To see if siganal strengths improve at higher antenna heights above ground please make and post 2 more tvfool reports.

25 feet above ground.

40 feet above ground.

Do not delete the first tvfool report that is the default 10 feet above ground.

Last edited by teleview; 27-Oct-2013 at 4:25 PM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26-Oct-2013, 8:53 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,912
Quote:
I was looking at the Winegard 8200
No. You have no low-VHF in your area so there's no need for an antenna that's 10' wide at the back.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 1:29 AM   #5
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
It will be at 40ft. So what would be the best choice?

Last edited by Twisty; 31-Oct-2013 at 2:30 AM. Reason: remove address
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 1:37 AM   #6
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
25 and 40 foot reports

25 and 40 feet

Last edited by Twisty; 31-Oct-2013 at 2:31 AM. Reason: remove my home address
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 2:24 AM   #7
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Talking Practical and Useful Information.

Install a Winegard HD7698P antenna aimed at about 290 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html

Use a Real and Actual magnetic compass to aim antenna.

-------

Install a Channel Master CM7778 preamplifier.

---------

For 1 Tv connected use No splitter.

For 2 Tv's connected use a , Holland Electronics , HFS-2D , 2 way splitter.

For 3 Tv's connected use a , Holland Electronics , HFS-3D , 3 way splitter.

Buy the HFS splitters at , www.solidsignal.com .

----------

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. .

www.solidsignal.com

www.amazon.com

www.winegarddirect.com

www.channelmasterstore.com

-----------

The Tv/s Must Channel Scan for the , OTA= Over The Air , Digital Broadcast Tv stations/channels , often named the , DTV Channels ~ Air Channels ~ Antenna Channels , in the Tv Setup Menu because the Broadcast Tv transmissions travel through the Air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

Some Digital Tv's will Automatic channel scan for cable Tv channels.

DO NOT channel scan for cable Tv channels.

Go into the Digital Tv Setup Menu and select , DTV Channels ~ Air Channels ~ Antenna Channels.

Scan for channels.

Last edited by teleview; 28-Oct-2013 at 2:48 AM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 2:44 AM   #8
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Hi, I see you are online. If you have time I posted the 40 ft report. Thanks
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 2:47 AM   #9
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Oh, I see you filled me in completely! Thanks so much. Sorry for the previous reply. Have a great night!
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 2:55 AM   #10
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Do You Have a recommendation for coax cable?
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 3:11 AM   #11
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Pratical and Useful Information.

RG-6 coax , use the coax that has the Compression type connectors on the ends of the coax , not the crimp type connectors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 6:54 AM   #12
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks so much for all your help. I'm ordering now and will let you know how I make out in a week or two. I really appreciate it.
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 7:09 AM   #13
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,740
The 7698 is a great single antenna solution in this case.

A premium option to consider would be an Antennas Direct DB8e + Antennacraft Y10713 + RCA TVPRAMP1R. This would give you more flexibility aiming for optimum performance.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 9:54 PM   #14
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
If I already have a new RCA ant751 could that replace the antennacraft y10713 beneath the db8e?
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Oct-2013, 10:39 PM   #15
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,740
If you already own the 751, try it. I would not expect much from the weak RCH-10, WTNH.

The two antennas are hardly peers of one another.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Oct-2013, 11:53 PM   #16
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
My wife has been talking to you about equipment, I would like info on securing the mast, I will secure the fist 12 feet of a 40 foot to a structure and need to put up guy wires at the 30 foot mark. Securing one wire to the top of the structure it will be mounted to, I would like to know the correct angle to calculate the material for the two remaining wires located 120 degrees out from the structure.
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Oct-2013, 4:21 AM   #17
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Pratical and Useful Information.

My request for 25 and 40 foot antenna heights were for to see what signal strengths are at 25 and 40.

---->Not tell you to install a antenna at 40 feet.<----

25 feet antenna height above ground is a reference antenna height that provides good idea of what is receivable.

Are there big trees in the directions of reception??

Or other big obstructions in the directions of reception??

Is that the reason that you are going to 40 feet or even higher , out of the starting gate??

I suspect more is being read into the information then what is.

Last edited by teleview; 31-Oct-2013 at 4:23 AM. Reason: Clarify information and Typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7-Nov-2013, 10:09 PM   #18
Twisty
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Hi, I purchased the antennas you recommended. Before my husband puts it up someone he spoke to with some experience in the past has told him we need an antenna with an amplifier built in. The DB8e and the Y10-7-13 don't either appear to have one. We are ready to install over the wknd, so your input would be greatly appreciated. And yes, I did order the RCApreamp you suggested. Thanks for everything! Have a great night!
Twisty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Nov-2013, 10:54 PM   #19
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,912
No, you do not need an antenna with the amp built in. Your husband's friend is misinformed. You cannot buy a large, fringe antenna with a built-in amp anyway.

You will need a pair of short (3-5') coax jumpers to go from each antenna to the RCA pre-amp. You will also need to physically operate the switches in the amp to verify their position. Put it in the SEPARATE position and put the FM Filter IN.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC