TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-Jun-2017, 1:38 PM   #21
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
then I guess I need a new antenna?
That is probably unnecessary, just need to identify the actual fault so it can (usually) be fixed. It's probably not the antenna's main components, anyway.

Quote:
Can you recommend a balun w/ clips like the one in the video?
You would have to make it from the component parts (balun, clips, soldering, etc), it's a one-off example.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jun-2017, 11:24 PM   #22
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,545
Quote:
Originally Posted by olimazi View Post
Guys, I swapped out the balun with a new one and it did not help my reception, sigh.
I am wondering if the connection between the UHF and VHF elements on the antenna is the issue - see pic.
https://goo.gl/photos/vT6N7UQ7MoGwJFNMA


Yes, it could be the issue if either of the wires from the UHF section touch any metal parts of the antenna on their way to the CB-8269.
Quote:
OK. So if I test with the clips and one part of the antenna is bad, then I guess I need a new antenna?
Maybe not, if you can fix it. Also, your antenna could be OK and the UHF signals might be bad.
Quote:
Can you recommend a balun w/ clips like the one in the video?
I used to recommend the Channel Master 94444, but they redesigned it but kept the same model number.

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16297

The WINEGARD TV-2900 gets good reviews.



Add two alligator clips that have screws.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg olimaziTVFant.JPG (76.3 KB, 567 views)
File Type: jpg WINEGARD_TV-2900_Balun.jpg (42.3 KB, 544 views)
File Type: jpg alligator clip.jpg (23.0 KB, 549 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 15-Jun-2017 at 12:06 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Jun-2017, 12:10 AM   #23
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
The WG TV2900 is now the same inexpensive, light-duty product as you now find on the RCA stick antennas. One can buy the same thing in an RCA-branded package for $4 in most (but not all) Lowe's home centers. https://www.lowes.com/pd/RCA-Outdoor...former/3724168
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 15-Jun-2017 at 4:00 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Jun-2017, 4:37 PM   #24
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Still trying...

"Yes, it could be the issue if either of the wires from the UHF section touch any metal parts of the antenna on their way to the CB-8269."

The phase lines do not touch any part of the antenna.

"Maybe not, if you can fix it. Also, your antenna could be OK and the UHF signals might be bad."

Mebbe
olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2017, 7:33 PM   #25
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Tree

I have a large pin oak in front of my antenna that has gotten even bigger since a tree in front of it fell a few years ago. This is most certainly what is causing my signal loss.
Would a different antenna with a wider beam-width help me?
or do I need to find another spot for my antenna...
I may try it in the attic, as I've noticed lower on the mast was getting better signal.

https://goo.gl/photos/ftoSpy92H8tkj1bC6
olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2017, 8:41 PM   #26
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,545
Thanks for the photo.



If the tree is between the antenna and the transmitting tower, that would certainly block the signals.
Quote:
Would a different antenna with a wider beam-width help me?
No
Quote:
or do I need to find another spot for my antenna...
Yes
Quote:
I may try it in the attic, as I've noticed lower on the mast was getting better signal.
Lower can sometimes allow the signals to pass below the branches, but going from outside to inside the attic would make the signals weaker.



Something doesn't look right in the photo. Maybe I'm getting the mast confused with the boom, or maybe it is just the angle that was used for the camera location, but the antenna looks like it wasn't assembled correctly. Can you show us another photo of the antenna taken at a different angle, maybe more from the side?

Your situation looks a lot like this:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg olimaziTVFtree2.jpg (178.2 KB, 488 views)
File Type: jpg olimaziTVFtree3.JPG (183.0 KB, 469 views)
File Type: jpg kevm14 on roof2.jpg (184.0 KB, 1583 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Jun-2017 at 9:48 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2017, 11:18 PM   #27
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
trees

LOL! that's me on the roof every week looking at the tree!
The antenna is assembled correctly, I have been getting the signal for 6 years without dropouts.
Yes, the tree is between the tower and the antenna.
Here is another pic (may have to bite the bullet and turn it to philly
https://goo.gl/photos/AoqbjMa4cgxbTepc9

Last edited by olimazi; 22-Jun-2017 at 11:23 PM.
olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2017, 4:17 AM   #28
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,545
Thanks for another photo; looks good to me!



http://www.hdtvprimer.com/ANTENNAS/siting.html

scroll down to Trees and UHF

Attached Images
File Type: jpg olimaziTVFtree4.jpg (263.9 KB, 475 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 23-Jun-2017 at 4:39 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2017, 4:31 PM   #29
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,545
I have added your photo to my collection of classic tree photos.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg olimaziTVFtree5.jpg (266.5 KB, 1589 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Jun-2017, 5:00 PM   #30
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
heh

glad I could help with the collection

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
I have added your photo to my collection of classic tree photos.

olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Jul-2017, 10:44 PM   #31
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Crap Shoot

OTA reception is a crap shoot alright!
I have my 7698p pointed towards NYC (70 degrees) and I get VHF ~low~ channel 6 from the back/side (PHI) 219 degrees, but when I turn the antenna directly to PHI I do not get channel 6!! LOL!! maybe because the UHF element is pointed that way and not the VHF, shrug.
trying to figure it all out...

Quote:
Originally Posted by olimazi View Post
glad I could help with the collection
olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Jul-2017, 12:43 PM   #32
olimazi
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 55
Out of curiosity, would these horizontal metal screw threads coming from my u-clamp on the mast have any affect on my ota reception?
https://goo.gl/photos/AxHYeM4gQqjVtFgE7
.
olimazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Jul-2017, 1:16 PM   #33
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 378
The bracket on your 7698P is entirely different than that
on my 7694P. I cannot help but wonder if the slotted screw
is grounding out your system????
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC