TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-Apr-2019, 7:29 PM   #1
98mystique2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Pre-Amp/ Receiver suggestions

Finally made the jump to cut cable, trying to find out what type of preamp setup (or other ideas) to run.
20' and 30' AGL reports
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385ab1cf819f
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90386ee95febf8

I'd previously had an HD home run for cable which I liked.

Looking to get some of the Chicago channels. Preferably WGN. I know with a medium antenna and standing on the roof with the antenna plugged directly into the tv I was able to get it so there is hope. In an effort to improve chances I bought a DB8e which should be in next week.

So questions

Will I be ok to run a high gain preamp with that or will I over power it with the "localer" Rockford channels? Hoping to install on the side of my house facing Chicago so the house can block Rockford and Madison channels.

Do I need an LTE filter ( I see some of the CM amps have them integrated) if I can see a cell tower less than 1/4 mile away?

Does it make more sense to just run a hd home run on the roof and run Ethernet into the house rather then coax? Where do I put a power inserter then too.

Can power inserters be 50 feet downstream?

Last edited by 98mystique2; 13-Apr-2019 at 1:09 AM.
98mystique2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 12:02 AM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,483
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98mystique2 View Post
Finally made the jump to cut cable, trying to find out what type of preamp setup (or other ideas) to run.
20' and 30' AGL reports
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385ab1cf819f
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90386ee95febf8
Your report links don't work. You did a copy and paste from the other thread, so the centers of the links are missing. Try these:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385ab1cf819f

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90386ee95febf8
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 13-Apr-2019 at 12:10 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:10 AM   #3
98mystique2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Your report links don't work. You did a copy and paste from the other thread, so the centers of the links are missing. Try these:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90385ab1cf819f

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90386ee95febf8
Good catch, thanks, fixed
98mystique2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:44 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,483




Quote:
Originally Posted by 98mystique2 View Post
Looking to get some of the Chicago channels. Preferably WGN. I know with a medium antenna and standing on the roof with the antenna plugged directly into the tv I was able to get it so there is hope.
Good test.
Quote:
In an effort to improve chances I bought a DB8e which should be in next week.
WBBM is one of your weaker Chicago channels and it is on VHF-High channel 12. The DB8E is designed primarily for UHF channels.
Quote:
Will I be ok to run a high gain preamp with that or will I over power it with the "localer" Rockford channels? Hoping to install on the side of my house facing Chicago so the house can block Rockford and Madison channels.
High gain (30 dB) preamps overload easily; go with a medium gain preamp (18 to 22 dB) like the Antennas Direct Juice. The house blocking the Rockford signals will help a lot, but there will still be some reflections off objects in front of the antenna. Try it first without a preamp, then add it.
Quote:
Do I need an LTE filter ( I see some of the CM amps have them integrated) if I can see a cell tower less than 1/4 mile away?
Possibly not. However, the Juice preamp contains an internal LTE filter, but no FM filter. Not all cell carriers will be using the frequencies just above channel 37.
Quote:
Does it make more sense to just run a hd home run on the roof and run Ethernet into the house rather then coax?
Hold off on that; it's a last resort. Keep it simple at first; you might want to feed a TV tuner on one TV from the antenna.
Quote:
Where do I put a power inserter then too.

Can power inserters be 50 feet downstream?
A preamp is designed to be close to the antenna. The power inserter is designed to be inside; 50 feet is OK. The coax that carries the signals down, also feeds the DC power up to the preamp.

If the antenna is outside, the coax shield should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety and to reject interference. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge which will tend to discourage a strike, but the system will not survive a direct strike.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 98mystique2TVFreportRE.jpg (269.0 KB, 523 views)
File Type: jpg 98mystique2TVFmap.JPG (71.0 KB, 516 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 13-Apr-2019 at 2:03 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 2:00 AM   #5
98mystique2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Hold off on that; it's a last resort. Keep it simple at first; you might want to feed a TV tuner on one TV from the antenna.
Interesting note that might be easiest for me. I have more Ethernet run in the house then coax. My last setup used the HD home run for the movie room computer and the Samsung has DLNA so it can access it, plus tv on the phone. Only concern I've got is heat and moisture with an outdoor install.
98mystique2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 2:04 AM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,483
It's your choice.

Chicago channel changes indicated by arrows:
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WBBM

Repack Plan for Chicago:
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=

Rockford changes:
https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WQRF

Rockford Repack:
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 13-Apr-2019 at 3:14 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Apr-2019, 12:27 AM   #7
98mystique2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 9
Good news, db8e came in today got it assembled hooked it up to the TV and get wgn even in the house (lots of dropouts). Bad news is I didn't do my research and Blackhawks have a contract with off air TV... So oh well but still get some fun tv! May look at ganging a high vhf and trying to get CBS too in this case.
98mystique2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Apr-2019, 11:02 AM   #8
bobsgarage
Senior Member
 
bobsgarage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Beach Park IL
Posts: 178
VHF hi antenna

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98mystique2 View Post
Good news, db8e came in today got it assembled hooked it up to the TV and get wgn even in the house (lots of dropouts). Bad news is I didn't do my research and Blackhawks have a contract with off air TV... So oh well but still get some fun tv! May look at ganging a high vhf and trying to get CBS too in this case.
if you do get a high VHF antenna, I recommend Stellar labs 30 - 2476. As far as antennas go, It's relatively inexpensive. From my own experience, I have a pair of them and both performed extremely well I'm 39 miles from Chicago, 47 miles Milwaukee and I get almost 90% I'm the farthest. .

https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...nna/dp/71Y5462


My only complaint is it is a lot of antenna for 1 VHF station from each city. Still, it looks like with your distances it will be exactly what you need in tandem with your already excellent UHF antenna. I was amazed one day I picked up hey station in Kalamazoo from across the lake which is about a hundred miles. Not perfect reception but it was pretty impressive to even pick it up.

I believe that antennas direct also sells a simple VHF add on antenna, but I'm not so impressed with it, for longer distances like yours.


bobsgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 2:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC