TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5-Aug-2016, 2:39 AM   #21
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 114
Yes that the Antennacraft 4bay ANTENNA and I think solid signal STILL has the specification on it ,sev
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Aug-2016, 7:49 PM   #22
Sev
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
Just mounted a VU-190 XR by radio shack yesterday that I picked up for cheap.

Is there a combiner that would allow the VHF and UHF of the XR to remain active when paired with the bowtie?
Channel 5 is 76-82 Mhz.
Sev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Aug-2016, 8:00 PM   #23
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 114
Yes s e v my MXV 5100,SERIES is working well to be expected I can't wait for the low VHF to take off but not long now from what the F c c says,PS mine's bigger than yours LoL have a good day S e v
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Aug-2016, 9:28 PM   #24
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
Just mounted a VU-190 XR by radio shack yesterday that I picked up for cheap.

Is there a combiner that would allow the VHF and UHF of the XR to remain active when paired with the bowtie?
Channel 5 is 76-82 Mhz.
Not really. VHF and UHF yes but 2 UHF is a hit or miss. It can be done but almost no one knows anyone that's been succesful at it. I've tried several times, no difference that I can see.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Aug-2016, 10:22 PM   #25
Sev
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbb View Post
Not really. VHF and UHF yes but 2 UHF is a hit or miss. It can be done but almost no one knows anyone that's been succesful at it. I've tried several times, no difference that I can see.
I might have to get creative.
That darn channel 5 is going to be the fly in the ointment.
I need to boost 39.1 which is 614-620 Mhz. The transmitter is mounted lower than the rest of the local transmitters and since everything is already edge 2 it def isnt helpful.

Aside from 39.1,2 I do however get 100% signal on all the local channels.
Sev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Aug-2016, 5:50 PM   #26
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sev View Post
I might have to get creative.
That darn channel 5 is going to be the fly in the ointment.
I need to boost 39.1 which is 614-620 Mhz. The transmitter is mounted lower than the rest of the local transmitters and since everything is already edge 2 it def isnt helpful.

Aside from 39.1,2 I do however get 100% signal on all the local channels.
If you only want one channel you can get a band pass filter from Tin Lee that will block that channel from one antenna and allow only that one on the other. BUT, $$$$$$.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Aug-2016, 2:34 AM   #27
Sev
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbb View Post
If you only want one channel you can get a band pass filter from Tin Lee that will block that channel from one antenna and allow only that one on the other. BUT, $$$$$$.
I found a selective combiner for 3 antenna's on Ebay. Have no idea of the quality. From Slovakia.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/122071915876...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
Sev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Aug-2016, 1:37 PM   #28
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 241
Would be interesting to see if they actually work, for $35 bucks it hardly seems it would since a custom job can be hundreds.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Aug-2016, 6:34 PM   #29
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
It would be worth trying... Only if the channels are correct for your application. The unit you've provided a link to would be great for someone who needs to insert real channel 19 and/or 20 from a dedicated antenna while receiving all others using UHF and VHF antennas connected to the general ports of the combiner.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Aug-2016, 7:34 PM   #30
Sev
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 31
I believe they have a selection.
Sev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC