TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-Oct-2014, 11:21 PM   #1
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
Custom Antenna for ABC (7.1) signal in Anaheim

I'm SW of Disneyland in Anaheim and have a problem getting a good signal on Channel 7.1 (ABC). Iíve used a Channel Master CM 3018 and an RCA ANT751. Both pick up most of the channels I want, but 7.1 has a stutter every minute or so (some pixilation and sound cuts in/out). My antenna does not have any real obstacles in it's field and is outside approx. 13 ft. high pointing NW toward Mt. Wilson (approx. 345 deg). The RG6 cable is about 30 ft. to a closet with a Antennas Direct CDA4 distribution amp feeding 4 Silicon Dust HD receivers. My TV Fool report is:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d243f33e5368dc

If I'm reading the reports correctly, I should be getting good reception. I'm kind of at a loss why reception on channel 7.1 breaks up every minute or so.

My question is this -- can I buy or build an antenna that targets one
channel, ABC channel (7.1), and tie it into the main feed with a Winegard
CC-7870 Antenna Coupler or a CHANNEL PLUS 2512 DC + IR Passing 2-Way
Splitter/Combiner? If so, what would be a smart choice?

I've been looking for something to target channel 7.1 and found an antenna built from copper pipe (http://imageevent.com/holl_ands/loops/folded) which looks promising. Could I customize this to for channel 7.1 in Anaheim?

I appreciate any suggestions, and I don't mind if you call me a dummy! I'm
tech smart, but not when in comes to antennas.
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Oct-2014, 11:35 PM   #2
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,074
Try it without the distribution amplifier. Use a 4 way splitter instead.
Tower Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 12:05 AM   #3
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
I had a 4 way splitter handy so I swapped it with the distribution amp and I didn't notice any difference -- Channel 7.1 (ABC) still seems to break up every minute or so.
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 12:51 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
4 Silicon Dust HD receivers
What model?

What kind of signal strength/signal quality readings are you getting for KABC CH7, and how do they compare with the readings for KTTV CH11 Fox?

You have some strong FM signals that might be causing interference to your VHF-high signals. Try inserting an FM trap or HLSJ acting as an FM trap:



http://www.hollandelectronics.com/ca...-Diplexers.pdf
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tilleyFM.JPG (115.2 KB, 585 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 14-Oct-2014 at 1:08 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 1:05 AM   #5
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
The tuners are: SiliconDust HDHomeRun DUAL High Definition Digital TV Tuner HDHR3-US (Black) (2013 Model)

I use Win7x64 Windows Media Center to interface with the SiliconDust receivers. Signal strength in WMC has 6 bars possible. It's green when there are 5 or 6 bars, yellow when there are 4 bars.

ABC (Channel 7.1) is 4 bars (yellow) -- picture pixelates
FOX (Chanel 11.1) is 5 bars (green) --- picture looks good
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 1:15 AM   #6
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
That's something I hadn't considered: I'll get an FM trap or HLSJ and see how that works.
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 1:53 AM   #8
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
You guys ROCK!

After testing the latest firmware, and then testing the Beta firmware (no change with latest or beta) I downgraded the SD tuners to the 20110323 version and it looks like it solved the problem. What the heck????? Regardless, I will continue testing, but it's looking pretty good so far. I am so excited.

My main regret is how long it took to come to this forum.

THANK YOU!
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 2:02 AM   #9
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Thank you for the positive feedback; you made my day!

The truth is I don't know that much about your tuners, I just got lucky hunting for INFO to help you.

Good job on fixing the firmware.

Every once in a while I look at their site with plans to try their equipment in the future.

I have tried several of the Hauppauge USB TV tuner sticks, and had a lot of trouble with the software. I could only get them to work with one out of three of my computers. I keep getting the message "device not found" when the tuner is plugged in and the light is on, so the installation software doesn't complete the installation.

My main interest is in measuring signal strength and signal quality. I have several SONY TVs that give signal strength, SNR, and errors. I also have several Sadelco SLMs (signal level meters) that give signal strength in dBmV.

Last edited by rabbit73; 15-Oct-2014 at 12:32 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 2:38 AM   #10
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
GroundUrMast has a thread on this forum that you might like to read, if you haven't already:

An Alternative to Rotators and Antenna Combiners
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=820
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Oct-2014, 2:55 AM   #11
tilley
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 8
That is a great thread and leads right into my next project.

Right now my antenna is pointing at Mt. Wilson, the origin of most Los Angeles broadcasts. I get 2 PBS stations (KOCE, KLCS) along with the old PBS and now independent KCET. But I have my eye on KVCR, a PBS station coming from San Bernardino. It might not be possible since there are some hills between my home and the broadcast, but I want to train an second antenna toward KVCR and see what I get.

Some of the articles mentioned above lead me to find the SilconDust program that measures the incoming signal. That'll be a really big help when I'm trying to get a hard to grab signal.
tilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC