TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 1-Dec-2011, 4:31 PM   #1
jonnybass

Trees, Buildings, need antenna help! Pics included

Hi, I'm new to OTA and would like a little help selecting my first antenna.

My tvfool report is here:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec12d8d824cf94

My situation is as follows:

I'm on the 3rd floor of an apartment building, my balcony faces SSE. I have a few enormous maple trees immediately in front of my balcony which block my line of sight to the 2 clusters of towers I'm trying to receive signal from. Additionally, a few hundred meters beyond the trees, there are a couple of apartment buildings that further block my line of sight. I have included a picture below.

I'm trying to get the local channels located at magnetic 180 and 182 degrees, as well as the buffalo channels located between magnetic 156 and 166 degrees.

I've properly oriented and superimposed the tvfool map on a picture of the view from my balcony below. The two dots in the picture represent the location of the 2 clusters mentioned above.

As you can see, I would be aiming my antenna directly at the trees!

As for the Buffalo channels, I would like to get FOX, ABC, PBS, CBS and NBC.

Can you recommend an antenna, as well as any other suggestions?

Thank you very much!
jonnybass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Dec-2011, 6:09 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

Can you install an Antennas Direct XG-91? Buffalo signals are going to require the highest gain UHF antenna available. Even then, don't expect reliable reception due to the obstructions, weak signal conditions, adjacent and co-channel interference and strong local signals including FM stations.

Reception of the locals could be doable with an indoor antenna such as the Terk HDTVi or an RCA ANT-751 mounted outside.

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Dec-2011, 6:26 PM   #3
jonnybass