TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-Jul-2013, 4:42 PM   #1
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Behind Hill

I installed a winegard HD8200U and a AP8700 on my chimney at http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46ae6131603aa6 . I am replacing direct tv there were 2 coax in the dish so I split it at the mast and installed the short run without the power booster it recieved all nasville channels but channel 2 and channels from bowling green Ky. weakly. The power boosted side only recieved channels 5 and 8. removed power booster and got about the same as the non boosted leg. Manually set in channel 2 and recieve it intermittantly which is funny because its on the same tower as 8 which shows a 95% signal. I'm thinking of boosting the long run and then splitting off of it to the tv with the short run making that run approx 200 feet. Any Ideas?
Also is there a product to convert over air signal to HDMI so I can run it through my surrond sound receiver?
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jul-2013, 11:38 AM   #2
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
200' sounds like a long distance, even w/ a booster.
Make sure your run is dedicated to the antenna, only.

A chimney mount may give you problems as far as moisture, birds seeking heat, creosote and/ or wind load loosening the mortar joints. Especially w/ something of that size.
If I weren't able to have towers, I would mount a tripod on the roof and reinforce it w/ strips of 2X4 on the underside.

All you need for audio, is to run your audio signal from the TV, or converter into one of your audio inputs. No need to convert to HDMI, cause it just converts back to an audio signal, anyway. Or, you could get a TV, or converter that has HDMI outs.

Last edited by Stereocraig; 26-Jul-2013 at 11:48 AM.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jul-2013, 5:17 PM   #3
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
The Channel Master CM-700PAL, CM-7001 and CM-7400 come to mind: http://www.channelmasterstore.com/Se...Boxes_s/27.htm

Remember, an amplifier is not going to 'pull' any more signal from the antenna or air... it can only 'push' the signal though the cable and splitter losses that are connected to the output side of the amplifier. This means you may need to consider other mounting options, higher is often the direction to go.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jul-2013, 9:35 PM   #4
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for the info, channel 2 decided to work on the Sharp tv's but 17 is intermittant the JVC only gets 4, 5, and 8 but has a 15 foot longer run than the longest Sharp I left the split at the mast alone and the power booster is still out of the system so the runs are 65 130 and 145 feet the JVC is on the long run. In analog days I had 1000 feet of coax going to a 35 foot tower on top of the hill with Radio Shack power boosters (3 I think but they kept going out) with pretty good results when the boosters worked
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jul-2013, 9:48 PM   #5
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Some splitters are power passing and some splitters do not pass power.

The power from the , preamp power supply/power injector , must be able to get to the preamp unit.

Aim the antenna at about 352 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html/.

As always , the strating antenna aim direction --> is the starting antenna aim direction.

The antenna aim direction can adjusted for best reception.

Most Digital Tv's have a signal strength meter and some Digital Tv's also have a signal quality meter.

________________

Here are web sites that provide information you are looking for.

http://www.epvision.com.

http://www.channelmasterstore.com.

http://www.sewelldirect.com.

http://www.ramelectronics.net.

Last edited by teleview; 28-Jul-2013 at 8:04 PM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 4:26 AM   #6
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks for the websites, when I had the power booster hooked up there were no splitters between the booster and the power supply. Iaimed the antenna about 340 aiming 330 gets strong channel 2 340 is as far as I can turn it and still get 2 but 17 is still intermittant. The Channel Master web sites had splitters (distribution Amplifiers) can't figure out if both legs are amplified and if power supply comes separate. I found a tuner hdmi converter on amazon so I can run it through my surrond sound it gets here next week
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 1:36 PM   #7
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimney Mount View Post
Thanks for the websites, when I had the power booster hooked up there were no splitters between the booster and the power supply. Iaimed the antenna about 340 aiming 330 gets strong channel 2 340 is as far as I can turn it and still get 2 but 17 is still intermittant. The Channel Master web sites had splitters (distribution Amplifiers) can't figure out if both legs are amplified and if power supply comes separate. I found a tuner hdmi converter on amazon so I can run it through my surrond sound it gets here next week
So, I'm guessing you don't have any RCA outputs on your tuner?
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 4:11 PM   #8
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimney Mount View Post
I installed a winegard HD8200U and a AP8700 on my chimney.....
Consider FM overload of your preamp. WBUZ, WWTN, and WFCM are LOS and very strong.

Try this installed between the antenna and the preamp.

http://www.antennasdirect.com/store/...on_filter.html

Last edited by Tower Guy; 28-Jul-2013 at 9:47 PM.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 9:28 PM   #9
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Try adjusting antenna aim direction.

Try higher and lower antenna heights.

Even a few inches can make a difference in reception.

___________

Connect a ->NEW<->Long Continues Length of Coax to the antenna and connect to the tv's one at a time bypassing all the other coaxes and connections.

Try with amplifier connected and with out amplifier connected.

Try a Winegard HD7084P antenna. My evaluation is the HD7084P antenna does better at receiving.

____________

My evaluation is that JVC and Sharp do not have sensitive tuners.

The best Tv's/tuners are , not in any order are , Sony , LG , Samsung , Panasonic.

Last edited by teleview; 2-Aug-2013 at 5:10 PM. Reason: Clarify information and typos.
  Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2013, 4:22 AM   #10
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
My receiver has rca inputs but it also uprates the picture to 1080p through the hdmi.
Thanks for the info on the filter. My preamp has a FM trap should I try both it and the filter
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Jul-2013, 12:04 PM   #11
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimney Mount View Post
My preamp has a FM trap should I try both it and the filter
Try the internal trap first by itself & see if it helps. You may end up needing the additional filter as well if not. The preamp's internal trap is not very effective on the lower end of the FM band.
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Aug-2013, 2:47 PM   #12
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
tried a separate fm trap it just dropped the signal by about a third took it out probbably try the amplifier again tonight. Was scanning channels last night and was picking up WHNT? Huntsville quite well with antenna pointed at Nashville
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Aug-2013, 2:58 PM   #13
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Did you install the trap between the antenna & the outdoor pre-amp module?
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Aug-2013, 1:48 AM   #14
Chimney Mount
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
left the pre amp out wanted to see what filter did getting to this antenna is not easy so climbing down reinstalling power supply and then hooking up preamp will wait untill tomorrow. Bought a Iview tuner HDMI converter it seems to pick up a little better than the tv tuner, but the remote is a little "sluggish"?
Chimney Mount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Aug-2013, 3:48 PM   #15
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here are stand alone Tuners/Recorders that have Better Tuners.

http://www.epvision.com.

http://www.channelmasterstore.com.

____________

When Testing reception Without antenna system amplifier.

Disconnect and Remove All parts of the amplifier.

Disconnect and Remove the preamplifier unit.

Disconnect and Remove the power injector.

Disconnect and Remove the power supply.

____________

As always , trees and tree leaves , plants and plant leaves , have a Negative effect on Broadcast Tv Reception and so do buildings and other obstructions including your own roof and house.

The Best Practice is to install the antenna at a location that has the least amount to no amount of obstructions of any type or kind in the direction of reception.

____________

As a Test for reception.

Recommend install a NEW coax from the antenna Directly to 1 Tv.

No amplifiers , No splitters , No couplers , No nothing.

It is the antenna , the New coax , the Tv/tuner.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC