TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 24-Jan-2013, 9:37 PM   #1
Alan909

???Winegard Chromstar 2000 AP8275???

I am new to all this so bare with me...I have visited TV Fools site for distance and signal directions, plus possible channels...My problem is, I live around 30 miles southeast from Erie in the country, surrounded by hills and told by neighbers we get extremely poor reception if get any at all(my zip code is 16407)...Being stubborn as I am, I bought a new "Winegard HD7084P" antenna and put it on a test pole about 12 ft and to my surprise, I have 4 differant channels(hoping to get more) and some pixation on one of the channels...with that, I plan on raising my antenna to 25ft, with 50ft RG-6 cable with a rotor...MY MAIN QUESTION IS>>>I did so much reasearch on PreAmps and read so many reviews, I got a headache, lol...but like to know the pro's and cons of the Winegard Chromstar 2000 AP8275 if any good...OR...can someone recommend a real decent preamp...
Alan909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Jan-2013, 10:09 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

It would help a great deal if you would post a link to your TV Fool report.

There are several good preamps available, some are designed to handle strong signals some are not. With a look at your TVFR, we can help you select the type that will match your conditions.

That said, the AP8275 is slightly noisier than some other options and a bit easier to overload. Still, it's a capable option in weak signal applications (but avoid it if you have one or more strong signal present). The Antennas Direct CPA-19 is almost always one of the right choices given it's low noise and ability to handle stronger signal levels.

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 24-Jan-2013 at 10:16 PM.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jan-2013, 2:08 AM   #3
Alan909

Question Need Help With My TVFR(preamp gain)???

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda9952082736