TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-Dec-2011, 5:26 AM   #1
2aa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Help with new antenna purchase and setup

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...ec1245bc23f13a

I just got a new TV (a big 73" Mitsubishi DLP 73640 for $699 on Black Friday), and picked up a little antenna at Costco (a Clearstream2 by Antennas Direct). I set it up inside my house (against a north facing window) and get some channels: 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, but there are other channels around (like 27) that I can't pick up with the antenna in that location (but that window gets the most for me of the 6 indoor places I tried). I only have one TV, the new one.

I am ready to get a bigger and better antenna but would like to know what the best way to start out is. I'm interested in getting as many of the local Tucson channels as possible (especially the big networks), and am wondering if I can get the Phoenix channels too. I could put it in the space above my garage ceiling or I could get it mounted on the roof. I'll get a rotating mount if it will help, but before I did that I think I'd rather do two antennas pointing in different directions and combine their channels, if that type of thing would work. I'm not sure if an amplifier will help.

Can you please point me in the right direction?

Thanks!!
2aa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Dec-2011, 4:41 AM   #2
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Reception with Tv antennas

For reception of the local Tucson channels. Mount the CS2 Above the roof of the garage and aim the antenna at about 25 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim tv antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. This should get digital stations , KOLD CBS , KGUN ABC , KVOA NBC , KUAT PBS , KTTU MyNetwork , KMSB FOX , KWBA The CW Network , KHRR Telemundo , KUVE Univision. Here are some antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html. Here are some place to buy on line , http://www.antennasdirect.com , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com.

Last edited by Electron; 16-Dec-2011 at 4:44 AM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Dec-2011, 5:05 AM   #3
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Reception with Tv antennas

The Phoenix tv stations are Very Weak at your location. If you will like to ' reach out ' for them . then install a http://www.winegarddirect.com , HD7698P antenna on the roof and aim the HD7698P antenna at about 309 degree magnetic compass. Do Not connect the CS2 and the HD7698P antenna on to the same coax. The HD7698P antenna and coax will be a separate coax all the way to the location of the tv. The CS2 antenna and coax will be a separate coax all the way to the location of the tv. A , AB27RS remote control A/B antenna switch will be used to select the antenna that will be connected to the tv. Here are online places to buy , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com. For coax use RG-6 coax.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Dec-2011, 5:42 AM   #4
2aa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Thank you so much for your help. Keep the CS2? I only minimally screwed it together -- I didn't even unpack their coax, as I used my own, so it would be easy to return (not much trace of use). I thought that it would be good as I saw a new one on a neighbor's roof, but now notice that it is no longer there -- they replaced it with a standard looking antenna. I also saw a CS4 at Amazon (didn't know they existed) -- would that be better than the CS2. Would it be better to get two HD7698P's? (One for each direction?) Since you didn't mention it, I'm assuming that an amplifier wouldn't be useful in the setup. If I had one HD7698P on my roof pointed to Phoenix, is it so directional that it wouldn't pick up the local channels, or would I really need two antennas (I don't mind, I'm just making sure)? Is there a device that combines the output of two antennas into a single line such that the TV sees all of the channels without a switch, or does the switch work the best?

Thank you again for all your help and insight!
2aa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Dec-2011, 5:52 AM   #5
Dave Loudin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 659
Solid recommendations.
Dave Loudin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Dec-2011, 3:28 AM   #6
2aa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
more questions

I am ready to go ahead and buy the big antenna (but still not sure what I'm going to do about the CS2/CS4/2nd 7698). Looking into the details, I found that I have more questions. Is there any particular RG6 cable to buy (with better shielding or better core)? I went to SolidSignal.com and saw that they are advertising RG11 right next to their RG6. Will that cable be better, or will I really not be able to notice any difference. I'm imagining that I will only need about a 50 foot run to get from the antenna to the TV. Also, a preamp and/or amp won't help me, right?

Thank you very much for your help.
2aa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Dec-2011, 11:34 PM   #7
phone man
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 117
Regular RG6 will work just fine. Lowes or Home Depot carry decent brands of coax in pre packaged lengths or get the exact amount you need cut from a reel.
You probably don't need quad shielded coax unless you have a lot of electrical noise in your area.
phone man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 4:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC