TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-Mar-2019, 6:11 PM   #1
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 470
OTA Signal Meter

I see these things for sale all the time, and am just wondering if they will still work on OTA signals.
If so, maybe I'll start stocking up on them.
They're always dirt cheap, so I may just get one for the cool factor.
Naturally, they have FM, too.


They're usually Leader and Sadelco, w/ the analog meter.

Thanks, people!
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Mar-2019, 8:10 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereocraig View Post
I see these things for sale all the time, and am just wondering if they will still work on OTA signals.
If so, maybe I'll start stocking up on them.
They're always dirt cheap, so I may just get one for the cool factor.
Naturally, they have FM, too.

They're usually Leader and Sadelco, w/ the analog meter.

Thanks, people!
Yes, they work fine on digital OTA signals. Digital OTA signals are actually analog signals that carry the digital information.

The coversion factor when using an analog signal level meter to measure digital signals is to add 6.8 dB to the analog meter reading. My analog signal level meter (SLM), a Sadelco 719E, reads a little high, so its readings are very close to the readings made with my digital signal level meter, a Sadelco DislayMax 800.

I have bought a few on eBay, but I don't bid any more than I'm willing to lose if there is no return.

My most recent purchase was a 719E that was in excellent condition: $75, including shipping.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2SLMs_1.jpg (103.0 KB, 423 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Mar-2019 at 8:31 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Mar-2019, 8:15 PM   #3
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 470
As always, I thank you, Rabbit!

I've heard conflicting opinions on that, so
I decided to get an opinion from somebody that knows
their stuff.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Mar-2019, 9:56 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,450
The models that say Super cover VHF and cable channels, but no UHF.

Wait for a nice one.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 24-Mar-2019 at 10:00 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Mar-2019, 10:35 PM   #5
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 470
10-4!

Thanks again.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 4:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC