TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 3-Mar-2013, 1:31 PM   #1
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
orlando - unable to get wopx (ion tv)

I live in Deltona and using a DTVPal dvr. I can get all channels EXCEPT 56-1. I have an outside antenna mounted 20 feet in the air. According to the info on this site I shud be getting it. I tried manually adding channel 48, still no signal?

Any Ideas?

thanks
JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Mar-2013, 2:07 PM   #2
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Please provide a tvfool radar plot report.

Use your Exact address to make the report and make the antenna height of the report 20 feet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3-Mar-2013, 7:22 PM   #3
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda3acead9ee6

Thanks
JD

Last edited by cwvega76; 3-Mar-2013 at 7:26 PM.
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 5:11 AM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
What type antenna? (make and model)

Have you confirmed your aim is optimized?
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 5:24 AM   #5
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Its the front end (uhf portion) of the top of the line Radio Shack. See my profile picture. What is odd is that with the coax directly into my Sony Bravia TV it does pick up wopx. I have tried two different digital converter boxes, an Apex dt502 and a Magnavox TB100MW9. Niether of these nor the DTVPAL pick up 56. WESH channel 2 also not found but that's because they are broadcasting on vhf. Another story...

thanks
JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 10:43 AM   #6
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,938
Probably adjacent channel interference on some of the tuners from local Univision affiliate in your back yard.

Confirm whether or not you're using an amplifier anywhere in the circuit. You should not be using one.

Try some combination of antenna location (block Univision, favor Bithlo) and external attenuation and you should be able to solve it.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 12:35 PM   #7
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
I'm sorry I don't understand what you mean by these terms? I did have an eternal amp but turned that off. The antenna IS aimed directly at Bithlo. Are you saying put an attenuator in the line? what is block Universion?

Thanks,
JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 4:52 PM   #8
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
I just googled Univision and find that it is a Spainish network. So I am assuming you were saying put an antenuator in the line and dial it back so as to eliminate Univsion.
Will try that.
Thanks
JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 5:14 PM   #9
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,938
Proceed in the following order, one at a time:

1. Eliminate the amplifier completely. Turning it off or unplugging its power doesn't count.

2. Relocate the antenna to the side of your home that offers a clear path towards Bithlo while simultaneously putting the bulk of your house between the antenna and the tower for WVEN which is located 5.2 miles to your west north-west. This will tend to help weaken WVEN's signal/

3. Add a variable attenuator and see if "dialing down" the incoming signal power will drop WVEN's signal power below that which might be causing the interference. You are not going to "eliminate" the WVEN signal in any event, we just want to weaken it without killing the signals from Bithlo.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 6:42 PM   #10
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Got it!

1. Bypassed Amplifier. Still No Go.
2. Using compass re-aimed antenna to 156degrees
3. Re-scann and now getting all 3 ION channels and a couple more.

Now, to the VHF issue with WESH. Could I simply add a 42" rod to the back end of that UHF YAGI?

Thanks SO much for your help!
JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 6:48 PM   #11
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,938
Try 32-34"
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Mar-2013, 6:56 PM   #12
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Will do. I have to get the antenna down but will probably be a few days.

Thanks again!

JD
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Mar-2013, 1:21 PM   #13
cwvega76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Problem solved. Now getting all expected local HD channels!

You guys rock!
cwvega76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC