Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Enthusiast's Exchange

Notices

Old 18-Jan-2012, 10:13 PM   #1
RenoPaul

Fractal Antenna Worked For Me

Quote:
Originally Posted by madvetos View Post
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...67d963356c6ff0

I have no equipment yet and i am on a hill with good nw exposure and a clear line of site to chicago. I am not afraid to buy good equipment and am concerned more about value ,

thanks for any help,mark
I'm a newbie here also, so until I get used to the forum and rules, I won't post any links to my sources.

I live in an area that all retailers said I would also need a deep fringe antenna mounted at least 20 feet over my house. And, I would probably still have unusable reception for the 3 channels I really wanted (CBS, NBC & ABC local).

With the cost of the antenna, rotator, distribution amplifier for 3 TVs, this would have put the initial cost of well over $400.

Amplified indoor/outdoor antennas in the range of $35/$100 were very ineffective, and were quickly returned.

So, I started experimenting with building a fractal antenna, based on the "star shape" elements. My first was with 1 inch per segment. Indoor I was able to get all of the LOS channels in my area. Pwr range at my home from -10dBm to -40dBm.

Without accurate equipment, I relied on the signal strength meter on my TV. The results from my homemade antenna were about 20% higher than the amplified rabbit ear VHF/UHF. And, to top it off, the rabbit ears had a 6 foot coax lead. My homemade antenna used a 50 foot coax.

Only 1 2Edge station (was able to be picked up with the rabbit ears, but I to find the exact placement, and effectively lost signal to the other LOS stations. My homemade antenna was able to receive this station without moving the antenna.

I set my homemade antenna outside on a temporary mount from my abandoned satellite antenna, and was pleased to get decent signal from another 2Edge in the high VHF range.