TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2-Apr-2019, 7:56 PM   #1
rlrobinhood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Help Needed

Hi all,

You've been such great help to me in the past. I recently moved to NW Wyoming (Cody WY 82414) and need help getting set up again.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90,
https://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=90
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...903858f597b978

Above are three reports I ran on the webpage. What I'm looking for is recommendations for antennas and any accessories you think I will need. I can place the antenna(s) on the SE corner of my house and can put the antenna(s) above the roof line about 20' off the ground. The cable run from the antenna(s) location to my tv is approximately 60'. So my questions are:

1) It appears I have two clusters of repeaters/translators to the east and to the southwest. Unfortunately, they are in quite different directions. Can you make an antenna recommendation for me or if you think two antennas is a better approach can you recommend the two you think would be best?
2) If two antennas, what combiner do you recommend?
3) How about mast recommendations?
4) Do you recommend an amplifier? which one?
5) Recommended vendors for these product?
6) Did I miss anything?

As always, I really appreciate you help. GREATLY!!!

Last edited by rlrobinhood; 11-May-2019 at 1:58 AM.
rlrobinhood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Apr-2019, 12:58 AM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,924
The translators to your southwest are duplicates of those over by Cody.

A simple UHF-only antenna aimed at Cody should be all you need. Shouldn't need an amp, the calculated signal levels are pretty good and, as long as you can mount the antenna so it has a clean view in that direction, should work fine.

Something along the lines of a DB4e and a 30" or 40" J-mount should work fine.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Apr-2019, 1:17 AM   #3
kb4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 48
Glad to see ADTech still here giving good advice
kb4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Apr-2019, 3:58 PM   #4
rlrobinhood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
The translators to your southwest are duplicates of those over by Cody.

A simple UHF-only antenna aimed at Cody should be all you need. Shouldn't need an amp, the calculated signal levels are pretty good and, as long as you can mount the antenna so it has a clean view in that direction, should work fine.

Something along the lines of a DB4e and a 30" or 40" J-mount should work fine.
Hi ADTech,

Many thanks for the reply. I checked out your webpage and found all the products I need. Thanks so much for the recommendation. I do have one followup question. How can you tell if translators are duplicates? I'm just curious. Thanks again!
rlrobinhood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Apr-2019, 7:15 PM   #5
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,507


Quote:
Originally Posted by rlrobinhood View Post
I do have one followup question. How can you tell if translators are duplicates? I'm just curious.
Hello, rirobinhood

This is an image of your report:



This report from rabbitears.info has a more accurate list of channels and shows the networks:



The channel changes because of Repack by the FCC are indicated by the arrows:

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...callsign=k47ad

Click on callsign to see subchannels.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rlrobinhoodTVFmap.JPG (89.5 KB, 281 views)
File Type: jpg rlrobinhoodTVFreport4-3-2019.JPG (127.2 KB, 289 views)
File Type: jpg rlrobinhoodTVFreportRE.JPG (129.2 KB, 262 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 4-Apr-2019 at 1:14 PM. Reason: Click on callsign to see subchannels.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Apr-2019, 10:28 PM   #6
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,924
Quote:
How can you tell if translators are duplicates?
I cross-checked them on rabbitears.info, just like rabbit73 did.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Apr-2019, 3:49 AM   #7
rlrobinhood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
AWESOME!!! Many thanks guys.
rlrobinhood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Apr-2019, 1:03 PM   #8
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 360
Just a thought...... When you install your antenna, try pointing towards
the Southwest and run a scan or two. See how many of those translators
you receive and jot them down. Then point at the other translators to
your East. Again, run a scan and jot down what you receive. Rationale:
You will satisfy your curiosity and see if there are any different programs.
There probably are not.
More importantly, you will know what is possible should one or more of
the translators to your East fail. Translators are not a priority for station
engineers these days. It is always a good idea to have "backup" when one
or more translators fail. Those translators take a pounding on those
mountain tops with the wind, snow and rain.....
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Apr-2019, 7:49 PM   #9
rlrobinhood
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeAZ View Post
Just a thought...... When you install your antenna, try pointing towards
the Southwest and run a scan or two. See how many of those translators
you receive and jot them down. Then point at the other translators to
your East. Again, run a scan and jot down what you receive. Rationale:
You will satisfy your curiosity and see if there are any different programs.
There probably are not.
More importantly, you will know what is possible should one or more of
the translators to your East fail. Translators are not a priority for station
engineers these days. It is always a good idea to have "backup" when one
or more translators fail. Those translators take a pounding on those
mountain tops with the wind, snow and rain.....
Really good point. Thanks JoeAZ! And you are right, those towers to the east of me take a beating on a regular basis and when they go down, it is often days before they are fixed. Many thanks!
rlrobinhood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC