TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > FM Fool Discussion/Database Updates

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-May-2016, 2:07 PM   #1
rockin1jr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
Outdoor FM antenna signal loss help

Hi all,
I have an Antennacraft FM6 antenna mounted outside roughly 10-12 feet high (say 11 feet average).
My cable run (RG6 non quad shield), is 75 feet long roughly, and I lose the majority of all my upper frequencies. I had this same antenna mounted indoors and I got all of my Pittsburgh FM's clear, but outside, the very upper frequencies have way too much static.
What is the cure for this? I know a preamp would hurt more than help, from the research I've done.
I had a coworker tell me about a long wire run FM repeater, but I have no idea if this is actually a thing..or not.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jim

P.S. - Ignore the red underlines on the FM Fool report, I was trying to aim the antenna for these 2 stations and no luck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg FM.jpg (160.6 KB, 237 views)
rockin1jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-May-2016, 12:53 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,910
I suspect that electrical noise interference has raised the noise floor which will mask your weak signals.

Is the coax grounded with a grounding block connected to the house electrical system ground to reject interference?

You can hunt for electrical interference with a portable radio that will tune the AM broadcast band. Tune to a frequency not in use at the low 550 end or the high 1600 end. You can also use the AM radio in your car or a portable radio that tunes the aircraft band which is AM. An FM portable is not suitable for noise hunting.

Your previous thread:
Preamp vs Distribution amp for outdoor FM antenna
http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=15963
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 19-May-2016 at 1:08 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-May-2016, 1:05 PM   #3
rockin1jr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
It is electrical noise, I can hear it when I try to tune in one of those frequencies. And no, it's not grounded. It's just one straight piece of 75 ft RG6. I imagine I'm better off connecting a ground to the house system, vs having it going to a grounding rod? or does that not matter?
Thanks.
rockin1jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-May-2016, 1:15 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,910
Usually better to connect to the house electrical system ground. For a temporary test I use a wire connected to the grounding pin of 3-wire plug inserted in a properly wired 3-wire receptacle or a cold water pipe with no plastic sections in it.

You might have to move your antenna if it is close to the noise source.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 19-May-2016 at 1:18 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-May-2016, 1:21 PM   #5
rockin1jr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
I temporally moved the antenna back inside as I got more even reception inside, but it was mounted roughly 6-8 feet under the 91XG. But I'll try that, thanks.
rockin1jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > FM Fool Discussion/Database Updates


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC