TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Reception Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9-Apr-2014, 6:59 PM   #1
jimzilla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
What is it?

I am having some problems with my antenna. It worked fine before. now I am missing some channels. There is a little plastic box that the RG6 attaches to (please see pic) I am wondering if that could be causing my problems and where can I get another one. I figure if I have to take the antenna down to check it I may as well replace it with another one, preferably a better quality one. As I recall there is a circuit board inside the plastic box with a couple of electronic components soldered to the board and a male RG6 is soldered to the board as well the whole thing screws to an aluminum bar in between the whiskers. You're advice will be much appreciated. Thanks much Jim.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg antenna pic.jpg (163.7 KB, 375 views)
jimzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2014, 7:57 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,679
That appears to be an Antennas Direct DB8 (not the newer DB8E). The box contains a network that transforms the 300Ω impedance of antenna to the 75Ω impedance of the coax, and also interfaces the balanced antenna output with the unbalanced coax.

Contact Antennas Direct support: http://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

FWIW, Though it's possible, the chances are low that the matching network has failed. Are there trees in the path of the antenna?
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2014, 9:47 PM   #3
teleview
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3,439
+=>

Contact , http://antennasdirect.com.

About replacement parts.

-----------------

Also , water in the coax and connectors and connections and couplers and coax ground coupler and splitters and etc. .

Will Cause reception situations of all types and kinds.

When water gets into coax , the coax is then , Trash.

All coax and connectors and connections and couplers and coax ground coupler , and splitters and etc. are suspect of being defective , outside and inside and every where else.

For a outside coax , use coax that has the Compression type connectors on the ends of the coax , not the crimp type connectors.

And to make Double Sure that water does not get in , wrap with , http://www.coaxseal.com.

----------

To prove reception one way or the other.

Connect a NEW Continues length of coax to the antenna and run the NEW Continues length of coax through a open door or window direct to 1 Tv.

Digital Tuners can develop -Digital Glitches- that are not cleared out with simple channel scans.

To clear tuner do Double Rescan.

http://www.wchstv.com/DoubleReScanAlert.pdf.
teleview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Apr-2014, 1:14 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,592
Contact customer service at 877-825-5572 during business hours for a replacement balun board. It comes with instructions and a zip tie to secure the coax (prevents future damage).

That's been the only available combiner assembly used on the DB8 since late 2008. You'd have to make your own combiner (splitter, baluns, cables, etc) if you want something different.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2014, 7:56 AM   #5
analogqueen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimzilla View Post
I am having some problems with my antenna. It worked fine before. now I am missing some channels. There is a little plastic box that the RG6 attaches to (please see pic) I am wondering if that could be causing my problems and where can I get another one. I figure if I have to take the antenna down to check it I may as well replace it with another one, preferably a better quality one. As I recall there is a circuit board inside the plastic box with a couple of electronic components soldered to the board and a male RG6 is soldered to the board as well the whole thing screws to an aluminum bar in between the whiskers. You're advice will be much appreciated. Thanks much Jim.
I wonder if an ordinary balun could be used if customer service can't/won't send you a new one?
analogqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2014, 6:36 PM   #6
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,679
I'd be quite shocked if Antennas Direct didn't support their customer and back their product.

Technically however, a conventional balun (matching transformer) could be used. It would require a bit of DIY improvisation though, the OEM antenna / balun interface does not have the conventional terminals to connect the classic style twin-lead of the traditional balun.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2014, 10:28 PM   #7
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,592
Of course we'll send one. All the customer has to do is contact us.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2014, 2:41 AM   #8
analogqueen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Of course we'll send one. All the customer has to do is contact us.

Cool- you are a great company - I have a few of your products, surely many of us on the board do. I should have chosen a different phrase, in fact I was more interested in how that balun thing worked than resolving the OPs issue, that is, if a regular balun could be used.
analogqueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Reception Devices


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC