TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Reception Devices

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1-Sep-2019, 12:55 AM   #1
Charles
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 31
Help with Channel Master DVR+

I have WLNS in my lineup through my Channel Master DVR+, it is digital channel 25, virtual channel 6.1. When doing a manual scan to attempt to add 6.2, and possibly 6.3, no channels are added. The scan sees three channels, the signal strength and quality are both 100, but it always comes up no channels added.

I thought that deleting 6.1 and then rescanning might work, though I don't see a way to delete a single channel. Any suggestions on what is going on?
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2019, 7:51 AM   #2
OTAFAN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 181
Hi Charles:

Go to: https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php

Scroll down to Lansing, MI, about half way down the page, Market 111, and click on.

All I see for your Market regarding your questions about WLNS is display channel 6, physical channel 25, moving to 14 after repack. There is also display channels 53-1 and 53-2, physical channels 25.3 and 25.4. Nothing regarding sub channels 6.2 or 6.3. So, my guess is your CM DVR+ would not be seeing those subs, except the ones on 53/25?

I did read this on the link to WLNS you sent: "As a consequence of the channel share and the need to transmit three high-definition signals (1080i for WLNS, and 720p for WLAJ's two ABC and CW channels), the 6.3 Ion Television subchannel was discontinued (the 6.2 getTV channel had been discontinued months before)."

Perhaps there is something else going on in your local Market that is not being picked up yet by Rabbitears.info or your link to WLNS?

If you could elaborate further on your experience with those subs 6.2 & 6.3, it might help the forum to help you better. What do you think?

Sorry I could not be of more assistance, but perhaps one of the good Techs here would be able to better serve you.

All the best.....

Last edited by OTAFAN; 1-Sep-2019 at 8:03 AM. Reason: additional
OTAFAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2019, 1:59 PM   #3
Charles
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 31
Well you are right, I can see that there is only 6.1 listed. I may have a faulty memory on this, but before a channel re scan a couple of months ago, I thought that I also had 6.2 available. As I mentioned above, when I try to add channel 6, the DVR+ sees 3 channels and adds none. So the confusion now is why is it seeing 3?

Also, thanks for the link to "Rabbitears", that is new to me and it is very clear and easy to assimilate information.
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2019, 2:44 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,516
WLNS sold their license in the Repack reverse auction by the FCC. They are now a guest on the WLAJ transmitter.
https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...=&lss=&status=

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...&callsign=WLNS
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 1-Sep-2019 at 2:47 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2019, 6:02 PM   #5
Charles
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by OTAFAN View Post
Hi Charles:

Go to: https://www.rabbitears.info/market.php

I did read this on the link to WLNS you sent: "As a consequence of the channel share and the need to transmit three high-definition signals (1080i for WLNS, and 720p for WLAJ's two ABC and CW channels), the 6.3 Ion Television subchannel was discontinued (the 6.2 getTV channel had been discontinued months before)."

All the best.....
So this is probably what the DVR+ channel scan is seeing, the former 6.2 & 6.3. I've hopefully attached a screenshot of what I am seeing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DVR__Scan.jpg (167.7 KB, 29 views)
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2019, 7:33 PM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,516
Your image shows WLAJ as Host on 25. It carries WLNS CBS as a Guest, because WLNS is no longer transmitting on its own.

https://www.rabbitears.info/market.p...n=WLAJ#station
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Reception Devices


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC