TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-Jan-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
sofakng
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Can I put an antenna in the basement? (3 mile distance from towers)

Here is my TV Fool link: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda15919747a1

I'm only 3 miles from my local HDTV towers, so I'm wondering if it would be possible to put an antenna in my basement (which is 80% underground).

If so, does anybody have an antenna suggestion for me? Something small and highly directional I'm guessing?

EDIT: What if I mount a small antenna below the floor joists (in the basement) which is just above ground level (so it's not underground). Might that work?

Thanks!

Last edited by sofakng; 30-Jan-2013 at 11:30 AM.
sofakng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2013, 2:29 PM   #2
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The --> Only Way <-- to find out.

Is install a Terk HDTVi (not HDTVa) antenna aimed at about 60 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim indoor antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.
  Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2013, 4:20 PM   #3
middleofnowhere
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21
it probably won't work. You are only 3 mi from transmitters but the ground will block ALL transmissions. putting it in the joists may work, but with such heavy construction in floors i don't guarentee anything.
Not to mention all sorts of random distortion and diffraction everytime someone walks by upstairs.
Assuming that you only want the big-name transmitters from your 3 mi towers a small directional antenna (upstairs a set-top would be more than enough) sounds like the best bet to me. You can always mount it higher in your house (if possible). You'll need one with UHF/high-VHF capabilities, if you want NBC and CBS.

P.S don't buy too big of an antenna, you're pretty close to your transmitter(s) and you could overload something with a huge antenna.
middleofnowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2013, 5:10 PM   #4
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by middleofnowhere View Post
P.S don't buy too big of an antenna, you're pretty close to your transmitter(s) and you could overload something with a huge antenna.
Over a mile away, overload is very unlikely. At 3 miles, nearly impossible even with a large antenna, unless of course some type of amplification is used.
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2013, 7:25 PM   #5
sofakng
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
I have a Winegard HD7082P at my old house that I still need to move into my new house...

I'm hesitant about putting it up in the attic (because it's a crawl space) but I might just do it and get it over with. However, it does seem like overkill for these local channels, doesn't it?

Should I just buy a Mohu Leaf or something and put that in the attic instead? (I'll still need to drill/run wire into the basement, but what can you do...)
sofakng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Jan-2013, 9:24 PM   #6
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,742
If you already own an HD7082P, try it. It's more antenna than I would spec. in this application but it won't break anything. It would certainly provide enough signal power to drive an 8-way splitter if you had the need.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jan-2013, 2:02 AM   #7
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Install the HD7082P antenna above the roof , with no preamplifier , aimed at about 40 degree magnetic compass direction , and also receive .

WSWB-DT REAL UHF Digital channel 31 , virtual number (38.1-2) The CW and Me-Tv.

WQPX-DT REAL UHF Digital channel 32 , virtual number (64.1-2-3) ION and Qubo and ION Life.

Here are some above the roof antenna mounts.

http://www.ronard.com/909911.html if using a tripod antenna mount use a 5 foot antenna mount.

http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html if using a eave antenna mount use the #4560.

http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html.

http://www.ronard.com.

Buy the ronard antenna mounts at http://www.solidsignal.com by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box or buy from ronard.

Last edited by teleview; 1-Feb-2013 at 4:33 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC