TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Sep-2017, 2:18 AM   #1
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Smile want to cut the cord, what antenna is the best for me

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4c14d02abd2
Hi,
I'm a newbie woman, and i would like to cut the cord on my cable and put up an antenna, (cable went digital here and i can't afford it) i have done some researching of antenna's but am not sure if a attic or house roof top, which would be the best for me. I have 3 TVs, 2 downstairs and one upstairs. I would like to get the most stations i am able to receive. I can get my neighbor guy to put it up for me. I was always told by the cable people; i am high on the hill and get too much power in my house. Not sure what that means. I live in Ohio, the snow belt section. A very small town. I do have problems not receiving good AM radio reception, but that's another problem for me later.
Please, any help would be appreciated, what kind, where to put it, what i would need, what i would need to ground it. My house was built in 1959. It was a ranch but now a 2 story type of thing. It does have a chimney on the house, the lower lever.
Regards and Thanks in advance
mom (annette)

Last edited by mom; 27-Sep-2017 at 2:22 AM.
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 3:02 AM   #2
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Greetings Annette,

Your best option would be the Winegard 7694p readily available online
at places like Home Depot.com and Walmart.com. You need to keep
the antenna as far as possible away from trees to the Southwest, which
would block reception. You could use a "J" mount on the eave or facia
of your home. Keep the RG6 cable runs as short as possible, under 50
feet. You MAY need some kind of amplification and/or splitter for the
three tv's. This should help get you started.....
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 3:23 AM   #3
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Grettings JoeAZ,
45 mile is enough for me? thanks for the start, i was looking at an eves hanger; upside down T shape, what do you think? i know i have spliters on my cable lines, one is in the attic. Does it look like i can get many channels? what kind of amplification should i buy also? i would like to do this only once, so i would like the very best to buy. thank you soooo much for all your help.

Last edited by mom; 27-Sep-2017 at 3:32 AM.
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 11:34 AM   #4
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,033
Without an amplifier you should get 8-9 stations with roughly 20 channels of programming. A bigger antenna won't help. If you want more stations a distribution amplifier installed indoors would do fine. You can add that later. To minimize losses use RG-6, not smaller RG-59.

I like the eave mount that you suggested

Last edited by Tower Guy; 27-Sep-2017 at 11:37 AM.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 1:39 PM   #5
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
what type of indoor amplifier would i need?
this; https://www.amazon.com/dp/B002M1EPL0...a-319935017205

I was told by my independent cable guy that some people are getting over 50 channels, wow, i would sure like that.
So, this type of antenna will not be good for me? Channel Master CM-4228HD High VHF, UHF and HDTV Antenna
or this in attic? 1byone Outdoor TV Antenna, 4-Bay Multi-directional Outdoor/Roof Antenna up to 65 Miles, Support 1080P, 4K and 3D Channels, High Gain VHF/UHF Antenna with Foldable Panel- Bowtie HDTV Antenna
thanks for all your help
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 2:07 PM   #6
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mom View Post
Grettings JoeAZ,
45 mile is enough for me? thanks for the start, i was looking at an eves hanger; upside down T shape, what do you think? i know i have spliters on my cable lines, one is in the attic. Does it look like i can get many channels? what kind of amplification should i buy also? i would like to do this only once, so i would like the very best to buy. thank you soooo much for all your help.
Yes, the Winegard 7694p with its honest rating of 45 miles is sufficient.
Any antenna that tells you it can receive signals over about 60 miles is
untrue. The curvature of the Earth prevents this. To receive/send signals
over 60 miles the transmitter and/or receiving antenna must be very, very
elevated. An eaves hanger will work, however, it limits placement of the
antenna whereas a "J" mount is much more versatile with placement. You
could also use an old mount from Dish Network or Directv. Again, I would
suggest you try reception without amplification at first. If necessary,
I would suggest contacting Antennas Direct by phone and ask them which
product would be best in your situation. Try connecting the antenna to
the attic splitter and see what you get. Finally, with reception, do not
get discouraged. It takes lots of trial and error and time to maximize
your reception. The other antennas you mention are not good
for your area for various reasons. The Winegard 7694p will
withstand the worst winter storms without issues, some of the
others, not so much. Some are UHF only, an issue in your area.

Last edited by JoeAZ; 27-Sep-2017 at 2:10 PM.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 2:30 PM   #7
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
JoeAZ
Thank you again, as a woman i double question things. I thought the eaves would hold up better with the snow we get. But if i recall, it had a J mount at one time. I never had dish or directv so i don't have a mount on the house, just alot of wires hanging down the house.
When my spectrum cable guy was here last week, to only hook up one tv, he told me i could watch all 3 tvs if i went with an antenna and put a flat pad antenna on my wall behind the other 2 tvs. if this makes sense to you?
My other concern is the tall trees on the west side of my house, on neighbors border line of property, if that will interfere with the reception.
How high can i put the antenna off the roof?
regards
mom annette
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 6:19 PM   #8
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Hi Annette,

In your specific situation, no indoor antenna will work properly.
That includes the flat antenna the cable guy recommended.
Those trees to your West due pose a problem. They essentially
block signals. How close are they??? How far away can you get
from them on your home??? Most of your important signals
come from the Southwest. What does it look like in that direction?
How tall are the trees and in what direction??? These issues
will help dictate placement of your antenna.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2017, 8:41 PM   #9
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
JoeAZ
The trees southwest of my home are about 75 - 100 feet away from the east side of my second story of my roof. The tree's are 40-50 foot tall.
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Sep-2017, 2:02 PM   #10
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Greetings,

Now I have a more complete picture. You are likely to have greater
long term success with a roof mount antenna. The additional height
will give you better reception over the trees now and into the future.
Someone will need to stand on your roof, holding the mast with the
antenna attached. A new RG6 should be connected via a window or
door to one television. Pointing the antenna to the SW, perform
scans as the antenna is held in one position. Be certain to log/record
your results and the exact position/location of the antenna/mast.
A ten foot mast would be a reasonable height but probably will require
guy wires to be secure in high winds.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Sep-2017, 2:14 PM   #11
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
JoeAZ
10 foot off the top of eaves? i called my city, they don't have any restrictions for house antenna she said, good to know. How do i log/record scans? I will go with the RG6 wire and make it as short as i can to the tv. I have to see if the wire i have on now from cable company is RG6 or not.
This is a good start for me.
Thanks for all your help. I have till the 15th of Oct. to get this done, or if the weather turns bad, earlier.
mom annette
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Sep-2017, 6:55 PM   #12
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mom View Post
JoeAZ
10 foot off the top of eaves? How do i log/record scans? I will go with the RG6 wire and make it as short as i can to the tv.mom annette
You could go with a 5 ft mast but it may not work as well over the long term.

One person stands on the roof, holding the mast with the antenna connected
to the single tv. The antenna faces SW, toward the Cleveland towers. Another person is inside watching the tv. If the tv has a signal meter, do use it.
You perform a scan as the antenna/mast is held in position. You record, on paper, the # of channels and a few select signal meter readings, if possible.
You communicate to the roof person, their exact position, have them mark/#
the roof with chalk or tape, directly over the position. Repeat multiple times
to ascertain which of the locations on the roof delivered the most channels
with the best signals. It takes time and patience.......
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Oct-2017, 4:17 PM   #13
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
Hi,
What kind of grounding do i use for the antenna? i just bought the antenna, j mount, and 2 masts 10ft total. How do i ground this?
thanks
mom
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Oct-2017, 6:12 PM   #14
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,007
If the antenna is outside, the coax shield should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety and to reject interference. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge which will tend to discourage a strike, but the system will not survive a direct strike.



__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Oct-2017, 1:53 AM   #15
mom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 8
rabbit73
Thanks for the information and the pictures helped me also.
I just bought 8 gauge copper wire, is that good to use also?
mom
mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Oct-2017, 2:16 AM   #16
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,007
The NEC says 10 gauge; 8 gauge is a little bigger, but it should be OK if it will fit.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
antenna advice, antenna amplifier, antenna choice, antenna height

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC