TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-Aug-2017, 10:15 PM   #1
hirosandwich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Replacement for Ronard 4424

I'm in need of a replacement for the Ronard commercial chimney mount (#4424) yet have not been able to find one. I'm finding there's a lot of cheap stuff out there (the market has really changed in the last 5 years!) Any suggestions? thanks
hirosandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Aug-2017, 11:44 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,006
discontinued
https://www.dxengineering.com/parts/ron-4424

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=ron4424

How long do the straps need to be; will 18 ft do?

I think you will need to buy two kits and combine them to make your own replacement.
https://www.3starinc.com/chimney_mounts_1.html

What antenna are you mounting?
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 20-Aug-2017 at 12:01 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Aug-2017, 4:17 AM   #3
hirosandwich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Problem I'm facing is I need at least a 5-1/2" standoff and it has to accommodate a 2" mast. Antenna is an HD850 and the mast length is 16'. I've been using three brackets (after two failed) for the past couple of years and figured I should replace two (or all of them) before I run into trouble. I special ordered a 2" thick-wall stainless mast at the time and don't want that to go to waste. Oh, and yea, 18' straps are plenty long.

Last edited by hirosandwich; 20-Aug-2017 at 4:22 AM. Reason: spelling
hirosandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Aug-2017, 4:59 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,006
Talk to DX Engineering and 3Star linked above. The guys at DX Engineering are used to helping hams with big antennas.

If they can't help you, it will be a custom metalwork job.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-Aug-2017, 9:19 AM   #5
hirosandwich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Alright, I'll contact them. I'm really hoping to avoid custom metalwork in the event I need replacement parts but at this point I may not have a choice. Thanks for the lead!
hirosandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 2:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC