TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Digital TV and Mobile DTV

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5-Jun-2017, 4:36 PM   #21
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,007
Quote:
Not sure what you mean by a power inserter
The power inserter is part of the preamp system. It makes it possible to send the DC power up to the preamp AND send the signals down to the TV on the same coax line.
https://www.channelmaster.com/TV_Ant..._p/cm-7777.htm
manual
http://downloads.channelmaster.com/S...77_7778_UG.pdf





Quote:
I am running the original coax that was here from the 80's. Does that make a difference?
Yes, it can make a big difference. Old coax can go bad from corrosion. It could be the reason why your neighbors are doing better than you are.
Quote:
As for the preamp and antenna suggestion, what can I expect from this combo compared to what I have?
It might make it possible to receive WQPX, but it will never be 100%. Just an experiment, no guarantee.

Try the new coax first.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CM7777diagram.JPG (115.1 KB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg Power_Inserter_for_Amp.jpg (143.2 KB, 119 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 5-Jun-2017 at 5:51 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jun-2017, 5:57 PM   #22
urhstry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorthEast PA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to urhstry Send a message via Yahoo to urhstry
I have new coax laying around, I may try that today. As for the power inserter, yes I have that, came with the cm-7777.
urhstry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jun-2017, 6:00 PM   #23
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 198
Just an observation. It might be costly and time consuming
to TRY and receive WQPX and it might never happen reliably,
if at all. According to Wikipedia, there are six subchannels,
most of which aren't anything special. You might be better
off just streaming a few additional programs to your current
tv......
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jun-2017, 6:43 PM   #24
urhstry
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NorthEast PA
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to urhstry Send a message via Yahoo to urhstry
Yeah I was looking at that too but I want to try to get the absolute best reception I can get..... its a challenge now. Plus by getting that one channel I also pick up channel 31 which is 3 more channels.
urhstry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-Jun-2017, 12:30 AM   #25
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,742
Quote:
Plus by getting that one channel I also pick up channel 31 which is 3 more channels.
Maybe, it's not possible to accurately predict what will or won't be received with signal estimates as low as yours.

All you can do is try it and see what happens.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Digital TV and Mobile DTV


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC