TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Digital TV and Mobile DTV

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-Jul-2015, 3:43 AM   #1
sdt62448
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
TVs with manual tuners?

I'm shopping for a new TV but want one that allows manual tuning. TV stations are in different directions so with my current tv I must re-scan for stations when I change antenna directions. I'd like to buy a TV that allows manual tuning in addition to auto-scan. I'd like to simply enter the RF frequency of a station to tune it in. For example, point the antenna toward Terre Haute, IN, punch in RF channel 36 to get virtual channel 2.1. Turn the antenna toward Evansville, punch in RF freq 46 to get 14.1, 14.2, etc.

Are there any TV makes that allow manual tuning or am I and other fringe antenna users simply out of luck when it comes to avoiding 'auto-scan'?

Thanks
sdt62448 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2015, 11:52 AM   #2
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
Not sure which ones are capable of manually entering channels, but another option, is to have one that allows you to :"Add Digital Channels", after the initial scan, is done.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2015, 3:58 PM   #3
Hamilton Ham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hamilton ON
Posts: 12
My Panasonic (2012) keeps all the channels when you scan. It really helps when I switch between antennas. I still have some channels in memory from some tropo events!
Hamilton Ham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2015, 4:02 PM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,007
My Sony KDL32BX320 and KDL32R400A will do what you want, in the "add a channel after scan" way that Stereocraig said, and they have a Diagnostics Screen that gives signal strength, SNR, and errors.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sony add channels_1.jpg (66.4 KB, 550 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Jul-2015 at 4:21 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2015, 6:34 PM   #5
sdt62448
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 2
Smile

Thanks, I'll look for systems that allow 'Add digital channels' in the menu.
sdt62448 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jul-2015, 9:20 PM   #6
dbseeker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 27
It has been my experience that the electronic stores (HH GREGG, Best Buy,etc.) will allow you to access the menus on their display models and if you have an adept salesman, they will show you how.
Agree that Sony has the most comprehensive info regarding signal parameters of any TV.
dbseeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jul-2015, 7:01 PM   #7
RF Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
Both my Panasonic, and Samsung TVs support manual channel entry. I had used the Samsung for years before I discovered that by entering real channel numbers it can be programmed without ever doing a channel scan. The owners manuals do not mention this capability. I learned it by accident. I think there is much confusion about the need to use real channel numbers when doing manual channel entry.
RF Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fringe reception, tuner

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Digital TV and Mobile DTV


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC