TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-Nov-2014, 8:47 AM   #1
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Surround Sound Dilemma

Greetings folks: I have a fairly decent flat screen TV and I am driving it with Clearstream C4 antenna. My problem is, the TV is not a “Smart TV” nor does it have audio or video outputs (not even a headphone jack). I would like to somehow connect my antenna to my surround sound receiver so I can take advantage of the available 5.1 TV programming.

My question is: Since my receiver does not have a TV antenna connection, do any of you know of a converter to which I can attach my antenna coax that will convert the signal to HDMI or RCA outputs that I can connect to my receiver? I do have an old VCR but I don’t think it will work properly with the digital input and I have also considered using one of those digital converter boxes we had to attach to our old non-digital TVs but that doesn’t seem feasible either.

In any event, I will appreciate any advice and/or suggestions you might be able to offer (other than buying a new TV) — thank you.
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Nov-2014, 11:07 AM   #2
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Temory View Post
Greetings folks: I have a fairly decent flat screen TV and I am driving it with Clearstream C4 antenna. My problem is, the TV is not a “Smart TV” nor does it have audio or video outputs (not even a headphone jack). I would like to somehow connect my antenna to my surround sound receiver so I can take advantage of the available 5.1 TV programming.

My question is: Since my receiver does not have a TV antenna connection, do any of you know of a converter to which I can attach my antenna coax that will convert the signal to HDMI or RCA outputs that I can connect to my receiver? I do have an old VCR but I don’t think it will work properly with the digital input and I have also considered using one of those digital converter boxes we had to attach to our old non-digital TVs but that doesn’t seem feasible either.

In any event, I will appreciate any advice and/or suggestions you might be able to offer (other than buying a new TV) — thank you.
Back in the day, everybody used their VCR as a tuner/ audio source, but that was analog and won't receive digital signals.
A converter box will be perfectly feasible, as long as it has L/R RCA outs and seems like your best option for the time being.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Nov-2014, 12:55 PM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,742
Your antenna cannot be connected to your surround sound receiver, that's not how it works. Additionally, a simple converter box will only provide two channel stereo (DD2.0), it will not provide DD5.1 audio support. You might get by with one of the HD converters with a digital audio output, but it will depend on your inputs to your HT receiver and whether or not you can synchronize the audio to the video.

Frankly, you likely need a new TV if you really want DD5.1.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Nov-2014, 1:38 PM   #4
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
I should've clarified:
Using a convertor box, can only provide basic L minus R surround and pseudo center channel.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 12:17 AM   #5
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
How old is your receiver? Does your receiver have any digital inputs?
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 8:37 AM   #6
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
No static at all: The receiver is probably two or three years old and it does have digital inputs.
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 8:44 AM   #7
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
AdTech: I guess my post was a little misleading, I know the antenna can not be connected directly to the receiver, I am seeking some sort of "magic box" (I guess) that would allow me to convert the signal from my antenna into something I could connect to the receiver. I do appreciate your information. Black Friday is coming up — a new TV just might be possible …
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 8:53 AM   #8
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
AdTech: Thanks for the feedback. I was not aware the converter boxes could not provide the DD5.1 audio. By the way, I notice you are with Antennas Direct and I just want to let you know that I think you guys make a great line of antennas — I'm very pleased with mine.
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 1:52 PM   #9
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
You should be able to connect your TV to the receiver using the optical output. I can't imagine any newer flat screen not having one. Even the inexpensive Insignia, Dynex & Hisense models have them. Some TV's will pass 5.1 & some don't so YMMV.

What model TV do you have?
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 7:18 PM   #10
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
No static at all: The TV is a 40" Samsung, Series 5 - 550 (model name: LN40E550) and it is probably four to five years old. To say the least, it was a "budget model".
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Nov-2014, 7:40 PM   #11
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Looking at the manual, I see a digital audio output on the back panel. Are you sure you don't have an optical out on the TV?

http://www.manualslib.com/manual/490...page=11#manual
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Nov-2014, 6:51 PM   #12
Temory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
No static at all: Mine is different — I wish mine had all those ports. Here is a link to the manual for my TV: [URL= http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/content/UM/201203/20120322100054092/[LD550-ZA]BN68-04313A-00ENG-0223.pdf

(You may have to cut & paste this into your browser.)
Temory is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC