TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 9-Jan-2011, 12:35 AM   #1
mcfl6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Combining multiple antennas

I want to combine two uhf/vhf antennas into one signal. I live in between two large cities and want to put one antenna on one side of my attic and another on the other side of the attic (pointing different directions), combine their signal into a single coax cable, and then run that cable to all the tv's in my house (through established splitters). I have done much research and am wondering if this is possible. Each antenna is an indoor uhf/vhf amplified antenna. I am curious if a diplexer or combiner is more appropriate. Also, i want to avoid "ghosting" since they may pick up the same stations. My guess is that the diplexer will work but I want to check on this.
mcfl6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Jan-2011, 12:59 AM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,757
Two options, but not what you are hoping for... You can combine one UHF antenna with one VHF antenna.

1) A passive combiner with a UHF port and a VHF port known as a UVSJ Taking this a step further, you can use a HLSJ to combine a low-band VHF antenna with a high-band VHF antenna.

2) An active combiner. Example: Dual Input Preamp

There are a variety of choices other than the examples I've offered.

A typical 2-way splitter will not provide the isolation and filtering needed to keep the two antennas from interfering with each other.


Four options to do what you are asking for:
(1) a rotator (not really what you are asking for, but functional to a degree)
(2) Conversion to MPEG-2 over IP over Ethernet - Thread 820 ($) to ($$)
(3) A complex combination of CATV commercial grade equipment ($$$$$). Custom Antenna Combiner or Single Channel Digital Signal Processor
(4) John's suggestion below.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 13-Mar-2011 at 8:57 AM. Reason: Added BB code and a link
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Jan-2011, 7:06 AM   #3
John Candle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,697
Tv Antennas and Reception

Also can run double the coax wiring , so will be one set of wiring for one antenna and a second set of wiring with the second antenna. And a Remote control A/B switch at each Tv location. This set up is really the best , no mixing of signals and the problems that come with it. If you were to make a post in the help with reception part of tvfool then we can help more.
John Candle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 2:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC