TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-Jan-2016, 3:58 AM   #1
dodgeram2500
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Antenna Recommendation

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d51344010e4a4d6

http://www.fmfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=29

Hello all, I just purchased a house in the country and I'm not interested in purchasing tv every month! My general plan is to build my setup one antenna at a time, and avoid splitters/ganging etc. Every time I add an antenna I'll add a tuner. Only one TV for now. Note that I used 25' for height on the report, but I may be able to go higher.

Step one: I'd like to get the Ottawa channels. On my TVFool report, these are the channels at 288/272 degrees true. Do you think that a HD8200U pointed between the two towers (at, say 280*) would be able to pick them all up, or would it be better to have a db8e with one bank pointed at each tower and vhf add-on.

I don't mind using a pre-amp, but am a little concerned with the ultra close channel 8 analog/fm radio tower.

Step two: 91xg pointed at 119 true for the US channels. I'm not worried about getting ABC on 13...I've heard its impossible, lol. Pre-amp will be used here as well.

Step three: (or should this be step one?) DB8e or similar with one bank pointed at Montreal (64* true), and the other bank pointed at roughly 200* true.

Thanks for any thoughts and replies! I'm jealous of all of you who can get 20+ channels on one antenna!
dodgeram2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jan-2016, 12:10 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,846
Here is the repaired TVFool link: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...51344010e4a4d6

FMFool does not provide clickable links, you must save it as an image, then post that image.

The HD8200 is not a suitable choice as there are no low VHF stations anywhere in your area. You can use one, but there's a lot of unused metal there.

You will probably need to attenuate both the immediate analog channel 8 as well as FM by 25+ dB to keep them out of the system. www.tinlee.com over in Toronto can custom make one for you. All you'd need is a low-pass filter that takes out everything channel 8 and below.

1. For Ottawa, select either a large high VHF/UHF combo or a separate UHF and a separate high-VHF antenna. You will need a suitable preamplifier.

2. Your idea is on track.

3. Unlikely to work. Repeat step one advice instead.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jan-2016, 12:49 PM   #3
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
You will probably need to attenuate both the immediate analog channel 8 as well as FM by 25+ dB to keep them out of the system. www.tinlee.com over in Toronto can custom make one for you. All you'd need is a low-pass filter that takes out everything channel 8 and below.
I agree with ADTech; you aren't going to get what you want without a custom filter to attenuate real channel 8 and FM signals. But, IIRC, the filter should be a high pass filter, not a low pass filter designed to attenuate frequencies below real channel 10 and pass frequencies above real channel 8.
Quote:
FMFool does not provide clickable links, you must save it as an image, then post that image.
That is correct, FM reports don't link like TV reports. But it is possible to create a link of an FM report, which is what I have done based on the short coordinates of your TV report:
http://www.fmfool.com/modeling/tmp/7...0/Radar-FM.png

CHOD-FM at -5.9 dBm is strong enough to give you a problem. I understand that FM FOOL might not be up to date on Canadian FM signals. You can do your own report here to see how close I came:
http://www.fmfool.com/index.php?opti...pper&Itemid=29
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 26-Jan-2016 at 1:01 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Jan-2016, 7:21 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,846
Quote:
But, IIRC, the filter should be a high pass filter, not a low pass filter designed to attenuate frequencies below real channel 10 and pass frequencies above real channel 8.
Doh! Reminder: Have another cup of coffee and wake up first...

:sheepish grin:
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jan-2016, 1:07 AM   #5
dodgeram2500
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 2
Excellent, thanks for the info guys. I will make sure I use a pre-amp and a custom high pass attenuator. For experimentation purposes, is it okay to hook up to the tv without the attenuator/pre-amp, or will it probably blow the tuner?

Also, I know many people don't recommend the 7777 pre amp, but am I right to assume that in my situation with most of the channels being pretty weak this would be a good choice?
Thanks!

Last edited by dodgeram2500; 27-Jan-2016 at 1:29 AM. Reason: 2nd paragraph
dodgeram2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jan-2016, 2:20 AM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
I will make sure I use a pre-amp and a custom high pass attenuator.
Please don't call it an attenuator; that is a different device. It will attenuate channel 8 making it weaker, but you must call it a high pass filter when you talk to a Tin Lee Electronics filter engineer and send him your tvfool report by email.
http://www.tinlee.com/contactUs.php

The filter will probably cost more than $100, so you want to get it right. We don't see any other alternative to the custom filter, unless you are willing to settle for fewer channels.

It is important to ground the coax with a grounding block to reject your strong local interference, otherwise it will get directly into the TV cabinet.

If the antenna is outside, the coax shield should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety and to reject interference. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge, but the system will not survive a direct strike.

__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 27-Jan-2016 at 2:38 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cornwall, fringe, lancaster, weak signal

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC