TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-Oct-2013, 11:36 AM   #1
askolits
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Will adding 10' to antenna hieght make a significant difference?

With my current antenna configuration, I am able to receive all the major network digital channels except CBS. This is the furthest away transmitter (70 miles). Currently, with the antenna located at 31’ above ground level, the TVFool analysis chart states NM of -4.2. I found that I can sometimes get CBS and sometimes not. It’s intermittent.

The question: Should I go through the effort of adding another 10 ft. to the antenna? Based on the TVFool analysis, it would lower the NM to -1.9.
Will it ensure a much better reception to CBS? This is more of a logistics issue for me than cost. Because of the height, I’ll have to add guide wires for stability and hope to put it up on my roof without killing myself.

My current info:
TVFR, 31' AGL: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46ae2f8d9e371e
Antenna Type: Terrestrial Digital DB8 Multi-Directional 'Bowtie' UHF DTV Antenna
Amplifier: Winegard ANWI8700 AP Signal Amplifier (1 foot below antenna)
Antenna Rotor: Channel Master CM 9521A
Ground Elevation 801 FT
Current Antenna height: 31 feet above ground level

TVFR, 41' AGL: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46ae5e73b9a977

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 18-Oct-2013 at 7:20 PM. Reason: protecting OP's privacy
askolits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Oct-2013, 7:22 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
@askolits, I've taken the liberty of converting your coordinates into TVFR links. Partly to protect your privacy and partly for the convenience of others.

Would the extra 10' clear nearby trees?
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Oct-2013, 7:47 PM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
WUSA-9? You need a high-VHF antenna added to the DB8. I'm surprised you even get a whiff of it with a DB8.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Oct-2013, 4:24 AM   #4
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Pratical and Useful Information.

Install a Antenna Craft Y10713 , VHF high band channels 7 thru 13 antenna.

Aim the antenna at about 105 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antenna , www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html

Use a Real and Actual magnetic compass to aim antenna.

Combine the UHF channels 14 thru 51 , DB8 antenna and the VHF high band channels 7 thru 13 antenna with a , EU385CF-1s , VHF/UHF diplexer combiner.

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. .

www.solidsignal.com

www.amazon.com

www.antennacraft.net
  Reply With Quote
Old 19-Oct-2013, 4:30 PM   #5
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
The Y10-7-13 is a perfect antenna for your situation.

If in your shoes, I would also replace the 8700 pre-amp with a dual input RCA unit. This amp will alllow you to join the 2 antennas most efficiently. It will also help address possible interference concerns with FM 96.3 from Big Mountain. You also have a channel 10 closeby that may cause problems with the less tolerant 8700 preamp.
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Oct-2013, 12:07 PM   #6
askolits
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
@GroundUrMast: Thanks for modifying my post as needed.

"Would the extra 10' clear nearby trees? "
I'll have to check later today. But I do believe that there are trees blocking the signal and the extra 10 feet will not clear the trees.
I'll let you know.

@Adteck and @teleview. I didn't even realize I would need 2 different antennas. Just figured the digital transmissions were all in the same band.

@No static at all Gee, it's a bummer that I bought the other amp. No idea I'd needed two antennas. Thanks for the info.

Thanks everyone. I'll let you know how it goes. I wish I consulted you all before I went out and bought everything. It seems to me the issue was not having the 2nd antenna for the VHF channel. I'll let you know how it goes.
askolits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Oct-2013, 1:15 PM   #7
askolits
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
@Teleview I'm researching the combiners and the one you recommend doesn't seam to be an amp. So can I use your recommended combiner first, then plug it into the amp? It seems the specs for the amp I have state: Gain: "VHF 29 DB, uhf 19 DB". So I'm guessing it handles both bands with the single input. Some amps seem to have a separate input for both, like the one recommended by 'NoStaticAtAll'. The specs on that one are: "Gain: VHF: 16 dB; UHF: 22 dB, Separate or combined inputs for UHF/VHF Separate amplification for UHF & VHF bands to improve performance"
askolits is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
antenna height

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC