TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-Oct-2017, 5:06 AM   #1
Frugal1SBM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western NY
Posts: 17
TV Antenna cable split 5 ways

Hi, I am returning for more advice. The set up recommended under Antenna worked really well for one TV. We are now running the line into a splitter for 5 way split and the number of stations has dropped considerably.

How can I get the same reception on multiple TVs we had on one?
Frugal1SBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Oct-2017, 12:24 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,770
Itemize the stations that were lost when the splitter was installed. Is the list the same for all TV sets? How about the TV set that was used for your initial setup and testing?
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Oct-2017, 4:27 PM   #3
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,115
Your previous thread for reference:

Moved to new location

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16324

Your signal report from your previous thread for reference:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4ee500a804d
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Dec-2017, 9:52 PM   #4
welkin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 25
You might need a distribution amp instead of a splitter.
welkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Dec-2017, 2:08 AM   #5
Frugal1SBM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western NY
Posts: 17
Update to New location in WNY - distributing to 5 TV sets

I found local support from Home Technology Integrations (HTI) to come and look at the wiring which he commented had been done exact opposite of what was required. After reconnecting the lead into the splitter the correct configuration and adding an amp I now get a good range of OTA stations on all TVs. 21 channels were found, which HTI Cable guy commented was the highest OTA channels he had seen in the area. I need to delete some from my guide as not worth viewing.

There is one Canadian station I wish I could get but keeps dropping out with not a strong enough signal 9-1 CFTO. I may have maximized my draw but any suggestions?
Frugal1SBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Dec-2017, 1:38 PM   #6
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,770
Quote:
I may have maximized my draw but any suggestions?
1. Get the antenna out of the attic and up in the air so the signals can actually get to the antenna.

2. Get a stronger high-VHF antenna and integrate it with your current antenna which would be relegated to UHF-only duty.

3. Both of the above, if required.

If you have to (or choose to) put your antenna in a compromised location, your reception is usually also compromised.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Dec-2017, 2:26 PM   #7
Frugal1SBM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western NY
Posts: 17
ADTECH
Refer to my previous post - the antenna is on the roof and the MAX2 recommended by Rabbit in the combo UHF/VHF configuration. The antenna was exactly oriented by the compass to guidance provided in this other post. It was elevated above the original Dish location with a 5 ft extension which was close to the maximum allowed by the HOA. I am not sure whether I could get permission to do a tandem antenna. I already have the VHF poles attached.


My previous thread for reference:
Moved to new location

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16324

Your signal report from your previous thread for reference:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4ee500a804d

Last edited by Frugal1SBM; 19-Dec-2017 at 2:46 PM.
Frugal1SBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-Dec-2017, 8:09 PM   #8
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,115
Quote:
I am not sure whether I could get permission to do a tandem antenna. I already have the VHF poles attached.
You would need a separate VHF antenna mounted below your present antenna to even have a chance for CFTO.

I will give you the details if you want to try it.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 19-Dec-2017 at 8:12 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Dec-2017, 10:28 PM   #9
Frugal1SBM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Western NY
Posts: 17
VHF Tandem

Yes, after this winter I would like to try adding the VHF. When the trees leaf out the current channels will be weakened by interference to the north-west.

In the meantime, Redbox has added pay for view streaming which increases options which are discretionary to going to the theater. On an icy night it is good to have the alternative to driving to a box or going out at all.
Frugal1SBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
antenna, help with reception, splitter

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC