TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-Feb-2013, 1:15 AM   #1
squarecmb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
New to OTA looking for advice

Hello.. I am relatively new to cutting the cord and had some questions..

Here is my report http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda28a2012ae5

I have an RCA antenna, ant751r, mounted on my roof. I also have an RCA preamp, tvpramp1r. The antenna goes into my preamp and then out to a Hauppauge 1229 in my computer. The cable length is probably 75 - 100ft and has one barrel connector just before coming into the house. My antenna is pointed at 131 degrees so I can pick up channels from both Baltimore and DC.

The Hauppauge card came with a signal meter which lists SNR ratio. Most of the channels in DC are 27-30 SNR and most Baltimore stations are 22-25 SNR. I have issues with one channel from DC (NBC 4). It sometimes freezes. I think it is dropping the lock on the channel. It is not a huge deal since NBC from Baltimore is fine, but I wanted to know if there was anything I can do to improve on my setup. Thanks in advance.
squarecmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Feb-2013, 6:39 AM   #2
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
A good choice for a antenna , the ANT751.

A good aim direction , 131 degree magnetic compass direction.

In between DC and Baltimore.
__________________________________________

For , WRC-DT REAL Digital UHF channel 48 , virtual number (4.1) NBC.

Most likely the situation is multipath , reflected reception off of trees and other objects including your own roof and house.

Try aiming the ANT751 antenna more towards DC or more towards Baltimore.

Can also raise or lower the ANT751 antenna.

Can also change the location of the ANT751 antenna.

Amplifiers will amplify multipath and can make reception worse.

As a Test also try removing the Preamplifier , disconnect the preamplifier , disconnect the power injector , disconnect the power supply , so that non of the preamplifier , power injector , power supply , is connected in any way.
__________________________________________________

Digital Broadcast Tv Tuners can develop - Digital Glitches - that are not cleared out with a simple channel scan.

Do a Double Rescan.

http://www.dtv.fcc/rescan.html.

_________________________

If not able to lock in reception , then try this antenna , Clear Stream 2 Complete Vhf/Uhf antenna , http://www.antennasdirect.com/store/...VHF-Combo.html.

Aimed at a starting aim direction of 131 degree magnetic compass direction.

___________________________

As always , trees and tree leaves do a good job of , reflecting/multipath , absorbing , blocking , Digital Tv reception and so do buildings and other obstructions including your own roof and house.

It is best to install the antenna at a location that has the least amount to no amount of obstructions of any type or kind in the directions of reception including your own roof and house.

___________________________________

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com.

Last edited by teleview; 23-Feb-2013 at 5:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22-Feb-2013, 4:18 PM   #3
squarecmb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks for your reply! When I first started I originally pointed the antenna at 173 degrees and don't remember having the problem with uhf channel 48. I recently readjusted to see if I could pick up Baltimore channels as well which is when I started having problems. Sometimes it takes a long time to get a lock on the channel and after it does it often freezes. I reused a satellite mount which is on the south east side of my house. I mounted the antenna as high as I could on that mount so I would have to buy a different mount in order to mount it higher (not really sure I feel comfortable doing that as I rent the place I am living in now). Aiming at 131 degrees I have a fairly clear path.. if I aim at 173 degrees or 90 degrees the antenna is pointed at some fairly decent sized trees.. the antenna isn't mounted high enough to get above my roofline to the north.

I bought the preamp because it was cheap, but maybe it isn't even necessary? I can take it off and see. When I first started I was worried about the length of the cable run and the fact that I had multiple barrel connectors and splitters. I have since changed my configuration and just have the one run into my computer with only the one barrel connector and minimal cable lengths.

I thought about maybe buying a better antenna in the future, but went with the ant751r as it is sold at Best Buy and they price match with Amazon.. if things didn't work out I could have always returned it.
squarecmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Feb-2013, 4:58 PM   #4
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can Temporary put the ANT751 above the high point of the roof to test reception.

A Simple J type antenna mount such as a Winegard DS3000 mount can then be used for permenent mount after the Temporary install.
If the ANT751 proves reception Above the high point of the roof.

And the CS2v Complete comes with a J type antenna mount.

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.amazon.com.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC