TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 7-Jul-2017, 6:13 PM   #1
scottcolson

LA channels from San Diego

Hi all, I'm trying to receive Los Angeles TV stations from North San Diego county. I have an Antennas Direct DB8e antenna pointed at Mt Wilson in LA which is about 75 miles from me. I have a Channel Master Amplify preamp set to high gain installed at the antenna. I am able to pull in many UHF channels at around 60% signal strength including many with a high negative NM (-20 to -25 dB). The channels that I can pull in include 58.1, 50.1, 5.1, 40.1, and 4.1. All of these channels are in the 31 to 41 UHF channel range which is expected.

My problem is the upper VHF channels especially channel 11.1. I know the DB8e is a UHF antenna so I purchased a Stellar Labs 30-2476 Deep Fringe High VHF antenna. I disconnected the DB8e and connected the 30-2476 then pointed it at the same spot on the horizon as the DB8e. Nothing. I cannot get any signal on channel 11.1 no matter where I point the antenna. My TVFool report shows channel 11 with a -4.6 dB NM so I would think it would pick up something. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance. TVFool Report to follow: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a48429452a66
scottcolson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Jul-2017, 6:31 PM   #2
jrgagne99

Pulling in a signal with NM=-4.8 dB is tough. I'm amazed that you're pulling in the UHF channels you mention at -20 to -25 dB. Are you getting them reliably, or was it a sample size of n=1 (could have been favorable tropospheric effects)? In either case, these are all 2-edge signals, and folks here will no-doubt tell you you these are tricky beasts to tame. Maybe try walking the roof with your 2476 yagi to see if you can find a Ch-11 hotspot, then plug the DB8e back in and see if you still get your UHF channels there as well. Finally, use a good quality UVSJ to combine them them (i recommend the Antennas Direct one).