TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 31-Mar-2019, 12:19 AM   #21
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
Two word's SOLiD single.com
You probably mean solidsignal.com

Last edited by mtownsend; 1-Apr-2019 at 6:50 PM. Reason: Cleaning up thread
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Apr-2019, 9:58 PM   #22
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Here's an update and a few more questions, please, if you will indulge me.

Received and installed the CM 5020 this week.
So, I am using it as well as the DB8-E.

Most of the lost stations have re-appeared.
Some aren't quite watchable yet.
Hopefully, a little tweak will help.

I got back WPCW 19 the CW and WTOV Channel 9.
WPGH 53 is so-so.
I am picking up WQED 13 PBS but it's not watchable.

An oddity (to me) was when I had no VHF antenna connected I received WWCP 8 better than I do with an antenna.

I seem to have lost strength on a couple stations that are UHF.
WTAE 4 and WJAC 6.
These were real strong with the DB8-E only but go in and out now that I have both.

Is there some conflict with using these two antennas?
The Channel Master is @ 18' and pointing at 225
I haven't moved the DB 8E in months.
It is 12' and @ 210

Thanks, again, for any insights
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:32 AM   #23
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Here's an update and a few more questions, please, if you will indulge me.

Received and installed the CM 5020 this week.
So, I am using it as well as the DB8-E.

Most of the lost stations have re-appeared.
Some aren't quite watchable yet.
Hopefully, a little tweak will help.

I got back WPCW 19 the CW and WTOV Channel 9.
WPGH 53 is so-so.
I am picking up WQED 13 PBS but it's not watchable.

An oddity (to me) was when I had no VHF antenna connected I received WWCP 8 better than I do with an antenna.

I seem to have lost strength on a couple stations that are UHF.
WTAE 4 and WJAC 6.
These were real strong with the DB8-E only but go in and out now that I have both.

Is there some conflict with using these two antennas?
The Channel Master is @ 18' and pointing at 225
I haven't moved the DB 8E in months.
It is 12' and @ 210

Thanks, again, for any insights
So do you have both the antennas connected together using a common splitter? If so, you may be having signals arriving at each antenna out of phase and cancelling each other out
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:41 AM   #24
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Thanks for the response, Tim.

Each antenna is on the same mast with separate lines coming into the house with separate pre-amps.

They are separate until they combine at a combiner to go into my distribution amp
Hope this is what you are asking
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:47 AM   #25
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Thanks for the response, Tim.

Each antenna is on the same mast with separate lines coming into the house with separate pre-amps.

They are separate until they combine at a combiner to go into my distribution amp
Hope this is what you are asking
Yes, so what are you using for a combiner?
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:53 AM   #26
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Something I got from Antennas Direct several years ago, I think.


It looks like a splitter turned around but it's not.
I have been using it since I got a second antenna way back.

I tried the splitters turned around and they didn't work.
This has worked for quite a while
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 8:54 AM   #27
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
The combiner is a Channelplus and it says combiner/splitter.

Since I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn't get back to sleep I decided to test something.

I disconnected the DB 8-E to see what I could get.
I continued to get WTOV 9, WQED 13 a little better and WPCW 19 as well as WPGH 53.
All VHF stations except for 53.

Then, I disconnected the Channel Master.
This allowed WTAE 4, WPXI 11 and WJAC 6 to come in clear and strong again but no 53.

This implies there is some kind of conflict but I have no idea how to fix it.
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 12:02 PM   #28
Nascarken
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 346
That is what happens when you do not use one feed line for uhf&one for vh f
With an A/B switcher.
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 1:05 PM   #29
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Thanks for the response, Tim.

Each antenna is on the same mast with separate lines coming into the house with separate pre-amps.

They are separate until they combine at a combiner to go into my distribution amp
Hope this is what you are asking
You are correct in your assessment that there is a cancellation effect
going on. You need to keep the two antennas separate all the way
to each tv. You can accomplish that by either using an A/B switch
or a separate tuner at each tv. You then need to readjust each antenna
because that cancellation could have caused mis-aiming.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 3:06 PM   #30
Nascarken
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeAZ View Post
You are correct in your assessment that there is a cancellation effect
going on. You need to keep the two antennas separate all the way
to each tv. You can accomplish that by either using an A/B switch
or a separate tuner at each tv. You then need to readjust each antenna
because that cancellation could have caused mis-aiming.
We'll if IT'S A hi gain ANTENNA like the seller's LAB antennas Direct 91at
Is a hi gain ANTENNA manufactures say that DISTRIBUTION AMP
Can all so can cause the same problem they fight one other.
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 5:00 PM   #31
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Nascarken, unless I misunderstand you, I have separate feeds up to the distribution amp where they are combined.

This is how I have been doing it for almost a couple years and just now experiencing it.

Joe AZ, also, why is this just now manifesting?

Is it because of the new Channel Master?

When the Clearstream 5 from Antennas Direct was hooked up with the DB 8 E, it wasn't a problem.
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 7:22 PM   #32
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Nascarken, unless I misunderstand you, I have separate feeds up to the distribution amp where they are combined.

This is how I have been doing it for almost a couple years and just now experiencing it.

Joe AZ, also, why is this just now manifesting?

Is it because of the new Channel Master?


When the Clearstream 5 from Antennas Direct was hooked up with the DB 8 E, it wasn't a problem.
Yes, more than likely. The Channel Master and Clearstream 5 are very
different antennas. How they interact with your DB8-E are also very
different when combined.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 10:26 PM   #33
Nascarken
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeAZ View Post
Yes, more than likely. The Channel Master and Clearstream 5 are very
different antennas. How they interact with your DB8-E are also very
different when combined.
Both antennas are hi gain ANTENNA 's
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Apr-2019, 11:36 PM   #34
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Is there a plain old VHF antenna that won't cause this problem?
I don't think I want to monkey around with AB switches on every TV
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 12:33 AM   #35
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
And to complicate things,(for me at least), the bedroom TV gets some of the stations I don't get on the living room TV.

They are both cheap Element tvs.
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 1:12 AM   #36
bobsgarage
Senior Member
 
bobsgarage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Beach Park IL
Posts: 179
I feel your pain brother

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Is there a plain old VHF antenna that won't cause this problem?
I don't think I want to monkey around with AB switches on every TV
Hi, I've been reading your thread with some interest. I am by no means an expert. But the one thing I have learned in the past few years is combining antennas is usually unsuccessful. Combining a UHF antenna with a VHF antenna usually works well if you use a UVSJ combiner. Or a UHF / VHF combining amp like the RCA PREAMP 1R

Combining dissimilar antennas of the same band almost never works. Especially if they are pointing in different directions. in fact that's a double whammy.

Pointing two duplicate antennas in the same direction does work however. I had to prove it to myself and I can tell you that's the only way it seems to work.

Unfortunately, many people just don't know that that's how it is. I wouldn't say I learned the hard way because I ended up with two excellent arrays. I just can't combine them. Even when I do combine them I get most of my strong stations but I will lose the weaker ones. For example if I do a scan with the antennas combined, I will get about 80 stations. If I separate the antennas I will get about 97 stations a lot of them off the back side of the highly directional antennas.

BTW, instead of an A/B switch I use two different tuners and switch the inputs on the TV. I have my inputs labeled "Chicago" and "Milwaukee"

Last edited by bobsgarage; 14-Apr-2019 at 1:16 AM.
bobsgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 1:31 AM   #37
bobsgarage
Senior Member
 
bobsgarage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Beach Park IL
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstone View Post
Is there a plain old VHF antenna that won't cause this problem?
I don't think I want to monkey around with AB switches on every TV
a VHF only antenna? I highly recommend this Stellar labs 30 - 2476. It's an extremely well performing antenna and it's relatively inexpensive. As far as I know only one supplier sells it. I have two of them and I'm very satisfied with the durability, ease of assembly and performance.

https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...P_LastViewed_3

That Channel Master 5020 should be doing just fine with VHF. That's a very big antenna and has a large elements. Much larger elements than the Stellar labs VHF antenna. Which tells me the 5020 is VHF low too.
bobsgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 1:33 AM   #38
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
Thanks, Bob, for your input.

I'm a techno-dunce and don't understand this stuff very much.

Do you have an example of a product that is a tuner so I could learn about them?

If I understand, my Channel Master and my DB 8 E are dissimilar antennas.

If I combine them with the right pre-amp I may have success?

Right now, my UHF antenna is powered with an Antennas Direct PA 18 UHF/VHF pre amp kit.
I'd had thought of connecting both antennas to it but didn't have the cables on hand when I hooked the antennas up
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 1:36 AM   #39
blackstone
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 126
I thought I liked the CM 5020 because I'm getting the stations I lost.
But with it messing up the other UHF stations I was looking at othjer solutions
blackstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Apr-2019, 1:53 AM   #40
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 183
Here's is a question for you: Are you using the CM5020 just for receiving VHF channels and the DB8E just for receiving UHF channels? If so, then you could combine them using a UVSJ combiner. If not, then you might could use a custom combiner designed for your specific channels. It all depends on which specific channels you want to receive on each antenna.

There is an eBay seller jan_jenca in Slovakia who custom makes the combiners at reasonable prices. I have ordered from him and was very pleased with the product. He also has a web site. http://www.antenne-komponenty.eu/eng...zlucovace.html
Attached Images
File Type: jpg selective_combiner_UHF_type.jpg (51.8 KB, 93 views)
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC