TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 28-Aug-2013, 12:57 PM   #1
ngreenberg

Trouble getting VHF channels in Boulder, Colorado

Hi All,

I am new to the whole OTA thing, but on a whim, purchased and installed the following equipment for my house (see report here: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...46aeceb419e971)

Antennacraft HD1850 aimed at 168 degrees Mag. North
|
|
VHF/UFH Signal Splitter
|
|
Antennacraft 10G222 High Gain VHF/UHF Antenna Pre-Amplifier
|
|
TV Set

I am getting great coverage of KXDP, KDVR, KCNC (as well as others) and after a couple of channel installations with the TV, KMGH. However, I cannot get KUSA to come in. This doesn't add up since that channel has a stronger signal than some of the channels that are coming in great, and is broadcast from the same location as those channels. In fact, I used to get decent reception using in-house rabbit ears.

What should I try next?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!
ngreenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Aug-2013, 7:45 PM   #2
teleview

168 degree magnetic compass direction is the other , north , aka , South.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Use a Old School magnetic compass to aim antenna.

Channels 7 and 9 in the VHF high band of channels 7 thru 13 are effected in a negative way more by multi-path reflections off of , mountains , hills , buildings and trees / tree leaves , etc. .

Most Digital Tv's have a Signal Strength Meter and some Digital Tv's also have a Signal Quality Meter.

---->Adjust the aim of the antenna for best reception.<----

---->Changing location of antenna can also improve reception.<----

Removing ALL of the amplifier , remove the preamp unit , remove the power injector , remove the power supply.

Can improve reception.

Reason , the amplifier amplifies the main signal and the reflected signals.