TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Sep-2018, 1:31 AM   #1
jcr159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: NE Ohio (Go Steelers!)
Posts: 3
Move to roof mount or forget about it?

I asked in the installer thread for a recommendation on an installer already to help out as an FYI...

Currently using a Denny's Stacker antenna in my attic:
http://www.dennysantennaservice.com/...enna-html.html

UHF stations are just fine, but have 2 stations (FOX and CBS) that are VHF-Hi band that come in most of the time, but break up a lot. Mostly seems weather related, around sunset, and sometimes randomly...

House is a 2 story colonial, so the antenna in the attic is probably 20+ feet above ground. It is mounted in the attic with a single run about 35' to my Tivo Roamio OTA. Currently using a Channel Master amp, the replacement for the MODEL 7777... Can't remember the model as it's in the attic..

Looking at my report (that i'll post next separately), it seems I may be getting a lot of my signal direct, and some reflected as I'm between the 1 Edge, 2 Edge, and LOS based on mount height

My question is: if I hire someone to move the antenna to the roof, what is the likelyhood I'll resolve my issues? (asphalt shingle roof), new construction circa 2009 for the whole development.

Other options? different antenna? Ganging a second antenna? others? I do have enough room to put another VHF antenna in the attic... Just not sure it would help since I'm not getting LOS signal from the problem transmitters (WOIO, WJW). And not looking to mount outside if I can't avoid it cause I'd rather not educate my HOA on the OTARD regulations if I don't have to...

Thanks for any help!
-j

20' AGL:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381d838f6410

25' AGL: (probably closest to my mounting height)
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...90381f050fa499

35' AGL: (likely height if moved outside)
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038bef75bea43
jcr159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2018, 1:59 PM   #2
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 278
My question is: if I hire someone to move the antenna to the roof, what is the likelyhood I'll resolve my issues? (asphalt shingle roof), new construction circa 2009 for the whole development.
Based on the information you provided, you will vastly improve reception moving
higher and outside. Here is why: Your AGL vastly improves as you get near or above the tree level in your area. Your attic, as any attic, cuts signals and impairs reception.
I wouldn't be at all surprised if you pick up signals with a roof mount that you currently don't receive at all............ Good Luck!
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2018, 10:11 PM   #3
jcr159
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: NE Ohio (Go Steelers!)
Posts: 3
thanks @JoeAZ!

is there anything else about my setup that I should be changing? Antenna selection, amp, etc?
__________________
Have an AV/Home Theater Question and want it answered in podcast format?

Email Question@avrant.com

https://www.youtube.com/avrant
jcr159 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC