TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > TV Fool Discussion / Database Updates

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-Jun-2011, 10:31 PM   #1
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Error in coverage plots

I've noticed recently that the coverage plots (using the online TV Maps feature) contain overpower anomolies for certain stations. Check out, for example:

CHLF-TV Hawkesbury
CHCH-TV-1 Ottawa
CHEK-TV Victoria

among others.

you will see a spike in coverage, generally towards North Northeast. The effective power in that direction is often reported 20-30 dB over the Maximum power.

For example, CHLF's max ERP is 10 KW, but the effective power to the NorthEast is over 2 MW.

Last edited by tvlurker; 14-Jun-2011 at 4:32 AM.
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Jun-2011, 3:07 AM   #2
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvlurker View Post
I've noticed recently that the coverage plots (using the online TV Maps feature) contain overpower anomolies for certain stations. Check out, for example:

CHLF-TV Hawkesbury
CHCH-TV-1 Ottawa
CHEK-TV Victoria

among others.

you will see a spike in coverage, generally towards North Northeast. The effective power in that direction is often reported 20-30 dB over the Maximum power.

For example, CHLF's max ERP is 10 KW, but the effective power to the NorthEast is over 2 MW.

Found a another plot with a northward overpower anamoly: CIHF-DT channel 8 in Halifax, NS. Max ERP: 1.000 kW, Eff Power: 6.564 kW
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jun-2011, 5:09 PM   #3
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
more northward anomalies

Also CIVO analog 30 in Gatineau, QC, although they'll be flash cutting to digital Sept 1, 2011.
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2011, 3:21 PM   #4
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Another whopper: CIII_TV_29 Sarnia - 18.466 MW ! :
Quote:
CIII-TV-29 29
GTN
Max ERP: 425.500 kW
Eff. pwr: 18466.102 kW
Dist: 74.6 mi Path: 2Edge
Rx: -83.4 dBm NM: -4.4 dB
Az: 182.1 (true)
Az: 190.6 (compass)
Any progress on this issue?
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-Jul-2011, 4:36 AM   #5
andy.s.lee
Janitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Whoops. That definitely shouldn't be happening. Let me look into it.
andy.s.lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-Aug-2011, 7:19 PM   #6
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy.s.lee View Post
Whoops. That definitely shouldn't be happening. Let me look into it.
Any progress on this issue?
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Aug-2011, 4:22 PM   #7
andy.s.lee
Janitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Yes, the bug has been fixed and we've been using the latest software build to re-process all of the coverage overlays. We are still about a week away from having them fully processed and ready for a site update.

I've gone ahead and asked that the software updates get pushed out immediately (for radar plots, interactive maps, profile views, etc.). This will fix any data that show up in new analysis results even though the coverage overlays might look wrong. The overlays will be updated as soon as the current processing job is done.

This should fix the whacky numbers you've been seeing. Please let me know if you notice any problems with the new software.
andy.s.lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Aug-2011, 4:50 PM   #8
tvlurker
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy.s.lee View Post
This should fix the whacky numbers you've been seeing. Please let me know if you notice any problems with the new software.
So far so good. I've checked out the interactive maps, and the flags report reasonable data when the receiver icon is placed over one of the anamolous wedges on the coverage map.

Please let us know when the new coverage plots are available.

Thanks.
tvlurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-Aug-2011, 11:45 PM   #9
mtownsend
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 632
Latest online coverage maps are ready

New online coverage overlays have been pushed to the site. The maps should now match the report data without the radiation pattern bug. This should update the Interactive Maps as well as the Callsign Lookup tool.

As always, if you notice anything that looks wrong, please let us know so that we can fix it.
mtownsend is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > TV Fool Discussion / Database Updates


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 3:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC