TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Old 27-May-2014, 12:39 AM   #1
brg88tx

Anybody ever try this antenna?

looks like it's similar to the rca ant751, but a little longer at 41". it does not say the width, but I emailed and the seller replied the width was 34". claimed gain is 6db on vhf and 10db on uhf.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/UHF-VHF-FM-O...item3a908cd974
brg88tx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2014, 4:06 AM   #2
GroundUrMast

I've got no personal experience with this product. The Specifications sound generous but plausible. If accurate, I suspect they are based on the peak gain in a given band and probably referenced to dBi with the balun and SWR losses ignored. (A fairly common practice in the advertising departments of most antenna manufacturers.)

The current UHF band in North America spans CH-14 to CH-51, so the design is a bit dated.

The price looks reasonable.

Quote:
Specifications:

Frequency:
VHF: 54~230MHz
UHF: 470~862MHz
Channel:
VHF: 2-13
UHF: 14-69
Impedance: 75 ohm
Range: ~ 75 Miles
No. of elements: 9
Gain:
VHF: 6dB
UHF: 10d
Front to Back Ratio: 7-15d
Beam width:
VHF: H50°
UHF: V60°
Antenna Length: 41 Inches

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 27-May-2014 at 4:15 AM.
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2014, 4:52 AM   #3
teleview

+=>

Their are No Magic Antennas , no mater what the manufactures claim.

It is a Cheap China antenna.

Cheap plastic.

Cheap soft aluminum.

Metal parts that corrode easy.
Old 20-Sep-2014, 11:56 AM   #4
StephanieS

I noticed this antenna as well. For $39 with free shipping I am considering buying this and swapping with the ANT751. I'll then pass on the ANT751...

When I do this I'll post some feedback on it.
StephanieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Oct-2014, 9:48 AM   #5
StephanieS

Just picked this antenna up. Attached is the coverpage with specifications.