TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-May-2017, 4:07 PM   #1
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
No Reception

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4be54e88e7c

I was checking reception with an indoor antenna, and received all the channels except for one hi-vhf channel I need. ( I got 40 channels) I decided to put up RCA ANT751 to receive this one channel as well.

The antenna was installed at a level where the roof edge meets the side of the house. (Should I go higher?)
I pointed the antenna's short elements toward the towers. (All channels I need are between 83 degrees and 95 degrees with a range in miles of between 20.2 miles and 33.4 miles in an easterly direction.) All elements were unfolded per instructions.
I attached the transformer to tetrapole studs, and attached transformer to coaxial cable. I ran the cable thru attic and down interior wall to tv, attaching the coaxial cable to dtv hook up on back of tv. (Approximately 40' of cable)
I ran three or four scans in antenna mode, and got 0 channels.
My tv does have a digital tuner.

Any help is appreciated.

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 27-May-2017 at 7:10 PM. Reason: repaired TVFR link
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 5:05 PM   #2
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
None of your location information pulls up. From the very
limited information you have given us so far, it would seem
to be a bad transformer or a bad cable.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 5:49 PM   #3
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
I damaged transformer that came with antenna, so I bought new matching transformer.
New rg6 cable was used.
This is my zip 36609. I tried to add link - apparently it did not work.
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 6:11 PM   #4
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,186
Consider these possibilities.

The replacement balun is also bad.

The coax was kinked and is now shorted.

The center conductor of the coax is bent over in the connector.

The center connector of the coax is too short to make contact.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 6:24 PM   #5
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
You are just West of Mobile, Alabama according to your zip,
33609. You have some very strong signals in your area.
It just keeps going back to the transformer/balun or cable
or both is/are bad..... Do you have the cable properly attached
to the correct point on your television???
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 7:32 PM   #6
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
Yes, the cable is connected to the DTV/TV connector on back of the TV.
I do have strong signals to the towers as demonstrated by receiving 40 channels with the indoor Mohu 50 Leaf antenna.
Raising the height of the antenna 6 feet probably would not help, since I am getting no reception, right?
All I know to do is buy another transformer and more cable and give that a try.
I am using two pieces of cable using a connector to put them together. Maybe a single 50' piece would do the trick?
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-May-2017, 11:40 PM   #7
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
Here is what I would do.
I would remove the new antenna from the roof.
Connect the RCA antenna to 50 feet of NEW RG6 cable
and see what you get. If it works, the other cable
is bad or the connectors/connections are bad. If it
doesn't work, replace the balun/transformer. It that
works you know what the problem was. If it still
doesn't work I'd try another television. Are you
set for OTA/antenna??? Are you on the correct input?
Regards,
Joe
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 3:22 AM   #8
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
What do you mean "remove the new antenna from the roof"? The antenna is actually on the side of the house at the level where the roof slopes down to the side of the house.

The TV is fine. I have already used DTV/TV input to scan for channels with an indoor antenna, receiving 40 channels, but not receiving the one hi-vhf channel I want.
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 1:53 PM   #9
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkgrable@aol.com View Post
What do you mean "remove the new antenna from the roof"? The antenna is actually on the side of the house at the level where the roof slopes down to the side of the house.

The TV is fine. I have already used DTV/TV input to scan for channels with an indoor antenna, receiving 40 channels, but not receiving the one hi-vhf channel I want.
Ooops, remove the antenna from the side of the house, connect to 50 ft
of NEW RG6, connect to your TV, point in an Easterly direction and
do a scan....

"I am using two pieces of cable using a connector to put them together. Maybe a single 50' piece would do the trick?" That is cause for concern... Either the connector or connections on your cables could be damaged or defective...... Hope this helps you.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 2:01 PM   #10
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
I am still not clear on removing the antenna from the roof or side of the house. If I remove the antenna, where do I place it?
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 2:48 PM   #11
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,565
Quote:
Raising the height of the antenna 6 feet probably would not help, since I am getting no reception, right?
Right

No, don't remove the RCA ANT751; leave it where it is.

The TV and the Mohu seem to be OK because they give you reception, but the RCA outside doesn't work.

So, you have to make some substitutions to find out if the antenna, coax or antenna location are bad.

The Mohu Leaf 50 comes with an amplifier. Are you using the amplifier?

I suggest you try the Mohu antenna outside (no amp) using the coax that goes to the RCA antenna, to see if the coax is OK.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 28-May-2017 at 2:52 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 3:01 PM   #12
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
With the MOHU leaf I received 40 channels without the amp, and 0 channels with the amp.

I will try to retrieve the antenna cable and to see if there is reception with the Mohu.
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 6:06 PM   #13
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by fkgrable@aol.com View Post
I am still not clear on removing the antenna from the roof or side of the house. If I remove the antenna, where do I place it?
The RCA antenna is fairly small. I was suggesting that you remove the
antenna and use it in place of the MOHU antenna either inside or
on a porch, balcony, etc with new RG6 cable. You can place the antenna,
temporarily, anywhere you wish or have someone hold it....
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 6:10 PM   #14
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post

The Mohu Leaf 50 comes with an amplifier. Are you using the amplifier?

I suggest you try the Mohu antenna outside (no amp) using the coax that goes to the RCA antenna, to see if the coax is OK.
I have been under the impression that if you try to use an amplified
antenna without powering the amplifier, it would not allow any signal
to pass through. Sort of like how a guitar amp operates. That is why
I suggested removing the outside antenna to test both the antenna
AND cable as well.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-May-2017, 7:04 PM   #15
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
I did power the amp, but with no luck, better without it.
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-May-2017, 1:34 PM   #16
fkgrable@aol.com
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 15
I am happy to report that I have reception. I pulled a new 50' length of cable, ran a scan, and got 41 channels, including the hi-vhf channel I could not get with indoor antenna.
The reception is clearer than Comcast. So, good-bye Comcast.
fkgrable@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC