TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 18-Feb-2015, 3:04 PM   #1
PCoaster

Lightbulb Need advice on antenna selection and other equipment-Palm Coast

Hi, I am new to Palm Coast, FL and am looking at putting up an OTA HD antenna. I told Bright House to shove their pixelated, freeze framing, over priced junk to the road. I want to install this right and get the best results.

I am located in the "E" section, here is the link to my analysis:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...2c150af1d1769c

I intend to use a ground based mast (don't trust a roof mount to not leak) and go up around 20 feet. I only have two TV's to hook up.

All opinions and suggestions greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
PCoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2015, 4:56 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

At first glance it looks like you'll need to get a bit aggressive if you want to include an ABC affiliate in your line up.

I'd use an Antennas Direct DB8E facing south. WFTV looks like the signal I would work the hardest for. Mounting high enough to clear nearby trees may be the only way to achieve reliable reception of the rather weak signal. Consider using the 'Juice' preamplifier from AD... The RCA TVPRAMP1R is a good alternate.

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Feb-2015, 5:33 PM   #3
PCoaster

Thank you! I see that the DB8E picks up UHF, will that give me all the "local" channels (ABC,NBC,CBS, PBS, FOX) ?

I am not sure what frequency they each are on or if I need an antenna that does both UHF and VHF.??
Old 18-Feb-2015, 5:47 PM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp

You have a full complement of networks available from the south that are all on UHF.

Note: WESH, the only VHF channel in Orlando, operates a UHF 18 translator in Deltona making reception of the VHF 11 signal unnecessary.