TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8-Apr-2015, 6:35 PM   #1
8bit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Need help with outdoor antenna selection in SC.

These are my two TVF's 12ft then 25ft:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0ad81b420a4

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0573559578f

-----
I'm only interested in the major networks: ABC, CBS, NBC and FOX.

I picked up a small, powered indoor antenna (http://www.sears.com/alphaline-trade...1&blockType=G1) and it worked great, minus WLOS which broke up too often to watch and WSPA was in and out but almost watchable. I did not split the signal on the indoor. It was going to only one TV and I tested the indoor antenna on only two TV's with similar results.

So, it would stand to reason that an outdoor antenna would work better ( 12 to 14 feet high from the ground ). I picked an outdoor antenna up locally: (http://www.hhgregg.com/rca-indoor-ou...na/item/ANT751)

After adjusting this antenna ( by height and direction per TVFool map ) I am only able to get WLOS and WSPA of the major networks. WHNS doesn't even scan and WYFF breaks up every few seconds. I'm getting around 60% signal strength from all the channels. One would think the better channels would be getting higher signal readings but whatever.

I'm using an existing 4 way splitter left in my attic by DTV and was used by their satellite equipment. RG6 throughout as well. I've tested only 3 TV's and all three exhibit the same results. I tried yet another 8 way splitter I had and the results were the same.

I have trees to deal with and there are hills. I'm in a bit of a hole but I feel good about my chances due to the indoor working so well.

I'd really like to get the major networks using a single antenna with a splitter so I only need one antenna to send the signal to 4 TVs.

My question is: is there a way to boost the signal of the outdoor antenna, use more than one or get a better antenna altogether. I think there would be a solution for me as the indoor, powered antenna worked so well but my wife doesn't want to hang antennas in every room and the cost would be quite a bit.

Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
8bit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2015, 7:46 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,550
Since you already have he ANT751, try adding a preamp near the antenna. The least expensive one would be the RCA TVPRAMP1R with the input switch set to combined.
http://www.amazon.com/RCA-TVPRAMP1R-.../dp/B003P92D9Y

If you want a deluxe preamp, consider the Antennas Direct Juice:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/store/JUICE.html

If you look at your two tvfool reports, you will see that WLOS is stronger and goes from a 2Edge to 1Edge signal at the 25 ft.

Connect the output of the preamp power inserter to just one TV for a test.

If you click on WLOS on your tvfool report, you will see the transmitter profile. Notice that even though the max ERP is about 30 kW, it is only about 6 kW in your direction because of the directional pattern of the WLOS transmitting antenna.

The 751 is not a high gain antenna, but it has a wide beamwidth to cover the channels you want from 352 to 23 degrees true. Aim the antenna to favor WLOS at about 1 degree magnetic.

If you think you need an antenna with a little more gain, the next step up would be a Winegard 7694.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...enna-(hd7694p)

The preamp should have enough gain to compensate for the splitter loss. If you have doubts about the satellite splitter, replace it with a conventional 4-way splitter. The splitter should be after the power inserter. If the splitter MUST be between the preamp and the power inserter, then you will need a special power-passing splitter. If there is too much loss in the splitter, replace it with a CM3414 distribution amp.

The coax from the antenna should be grounded with a grounding block connected to the house electrical system ground with a 10 gauge copper wire for your safety. If you want full compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 8-Apr-2015 at 8:46 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2015, 8:09 PM   #3
8bit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
The preamp has been ordered! Thanks rabbit for your help! It should arrive this Friday and I'll hook it up, point toward WLOS and report back with the results.

Many thanks!
8bit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Apr-2015, 11:06 PM   #4
8bit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Rabbit73,

I installed the RCA preamp and also picked up an amplified 4 way splitter and that did the trick! I'm able to pick up all of my major networks!

Thank you again for your help!

8bit
8bit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Apr-2015, 11:23 PM   #5
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,550
Thanks for the update. Glad to hear you are getting good reception.

Best regards,
rabbit
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
outdoor, outdoor antenna, south carolina

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 6:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC