TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-Jul-2012, 10:16 PM   #1
kytter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
3 Toledo stations MIA

We are testing a basic bunny-ears antenna and amplified indoor antenna from RadioShack to try to access our local stations, but 3 channels don't come in--PBS, Fox and NBC. We’re in Sylvania, Ohio, and all the searches we've done online show that we should be receiving them OK via UHF, as they're less than 17 miles away. We get the ABC and CBS affiliates just fine. We've tried it on the 2nd floor of our house, on the first floor on different sides of the house and in the backyard toward the east, where the towers are. Any ideas are appreciated!
kytter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Jul-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,762
Please read through the Guidelines when asking for help. Then post a link to your TV Fool report. We'll be able to be much more helpful with that information at hand.

Thanks
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Jul-2012, 10:31 PM   #3
kytter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Signal Analysis Results

Sorry! Here is the link to our signal analysis results: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9900efef2da881

Channels we are most interested in are PBS, NBC, ABC, CBS and FOX. I think I answered the other questions above. I did email the FOX engineering dept, and just got this reply, "The amplifier is probably being overloaded. With only a few model exceptions, indoor amplified antennas do not work well. Might try a new channel scan, move the antenna a couple of feet and then scan again. An outdoor, non-amplified antenna works best." (We did try moving it all over the place, but maybe we need the outdoor one?)
kytter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2012, 1:18 AM   #4
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
->ALL<- Questions and Answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

For all of the Tv channels you have requested and more.

Install a Winegard HD7000R antenna above the roof aimed at about 65 degree magnetic compass.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Here are some antenna mounts , http://www.ronard.com/909911.html , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , http://www.ronard.com/ychim.html , http://www.ronard.com.

Buy the ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box.

Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.amazon.com.

---> How many Tv's are will be connected?? <---

Last edited by Electron; 14-Jul-2012 at 8:28 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2012, 1:27 AM   #5
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
->ALL<- Questions and Answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

The Tv/s Must scan for the Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes named the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv setup menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

Do Not scan for cable tv channels.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2012, 4:24 AM   #6
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
->ALL<- Questions and Answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

Your location has receivable Tv stations/channels in ALL 3 Tv bands.

All 3 Tv bands are.

VHF low band channels 2 thru 6.

VHF high band channels 7 thru 13.

UHF band channels 14 thru 51.

Here are some examples.

WLMB-DT REAL channel 5 , Virtual channel (40.1) Independent Tv Station.

WTOL-DT REAL channel 11 , Virtual channel (11.1) CBS.

WNWO-TV REAL channel 49 , Virtual channel (24.1) NBC.

The HD7000R receives All 3 Tv bands.


------> How many Tv's are/will be connected?? <------
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jul-2012, 7:28 PM   #7
kytter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Fixed!

We were scanning for cable stations instead of antenna. Duh! Tried it this morning for "antenna" and we get everything now. Thank you!
kytter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
antennas, toledo

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 6:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC