TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-Dec-2014, 4:21 PM   #1
Studebaker839
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
Distribution Amp Suggestions

I recently installed an Antennacraft HBU44 in my attic, with broadcast towers 65 miles away. I have it connected to one tv and no preamp. Everything looks great and am getting between 60-80% signal strength. I'm wanting to split to the rest of the rooms in my house but am looking for distribution amp suggestions. 4 rooms total. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Studebaker839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Dec-2014, 4:24 PM   #2
Studebaker839
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
forgot to mention... each cable run from the antenna would be roughly 25 feet.
Studebaker839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2014, 10:39 AM   #3
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Install a low noise, medium gain preamp with a four port splitter instead.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2014, 1:58 PM   #4
Studebaker839
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
Install a low noise, medium gain preamp with a four port splitter instead.
Like a Winegard LNA-200?
Studebaker839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2014, 3:16 PM   #5
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
I'd suggest our PA18, it's quieter.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2014, 4:41 PM   #6
Studebaker839
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
I'd suggest our PA18, it's quieter.
Would it be an issue with the power insert being in the attic along with the amp? It gets pretty hot/cold up there. I would be splitting it in the attic.
Studebaker839 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2014, 5:35 PM   #7
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
No problem putting the power supply in the attic. However, with the correct type of splitter, you could locate the power inserter behind or near any of your serviced outlets. All you need is a "Satellite-rated" splitter that you can pick up locally, it will feed preamp
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Special Topics > Antennas


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC