TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 24-Sep-2014, 1:48 AM   #1
sirota
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
Please help with OTA antenna mount

I will be getting an HBU11 antenna and I would like to ask for help re-using a Dish mount. See the photo below:


The location is good for the OTA, the wire is already there, the problem is the mount. If I attach it to the dish mast it would be too low, maybe even touching the roof. I understand the antenna should be about 3 feet above the roof.

What are my options here? If I just buy a J mount, it would also be too short.

Would a 1.25" x 5 ft. pole that various places sell be OK to stick inside the existing dish J mount?

What about just buying a pipe from a place like Home Depot?

Based on my measurements the existing J mount is about 1 5/8 in diameter, perhaps you guys know the standard measurement ID for a Dish branded antenna.

Thoughts? Ideas? I'm trying to keep it simple and not climb up on the roof, just want to re-use the location.

Thank you.
sirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2014, 8:52 AM   #2
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 465
That baseplate, doesn't look to be mounted to anything substantial enough to start adding weight, length and wind load to it.

Those things have a small footprint as it is.
Doing something it isn't meant to do, may only lead to a whole new set of problems.
That's why antenna tripods, cover so much of a larger area.

Maybe consider a roof mount tripod, or a gable anchored mast.
I seriously doubt that a tower would be your cup of tea.

Some people may even recommend a chimney mount. I won't.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2014, 2:58 PM   #3
sirota
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
I don't want to put it very high up, maybe just a 5 ft. mast. The location seems to be easy to get signal, I'm currently using an indoor Winegard Flatwave from Costco and it's usable for the most part. There isn't much blocking the LOS so I don't think I need it high up, just to clear the corner of the roof. The HBU11 claims to weigh 3.1 lbs, and it's fairly small from what I can tell, should I still be concerned about weight and wind?
sirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-Sep-2014, 4:05 PM   #4
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirota View Post
I don't want to put it very high up, maybe just a 5 ft. mast. The location seems to be easy to get signal, I'm currently using an indoor Winegard Flatwave from Costco and it's usable for the most part. There isn't much blocking the LOS so I don't think I need it high up, just to clear the corner of the roof. The HBU11 claims to weigh 3.1 lbs, and it's fairly small from what I can tell, should I still be concerned about weight and wind?
The dish, or a small antenna, is one thing. Adding the weight and leverage of a mast, introduces an entirely new set of variables.

Some aspects of antenna installation, are standard and are best followed.
When you start improvising materials and locations though, it's either trial and error, or a matter of feel for the mechanics and physics that are unique to your particular project.

Unfortunately, "error" can be short for a crumpled antenna lying on the ground and/ or Pieces of the building damaged from lag bolts being yanked out. Or worse.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2014, 4:32 PM   #5
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 465
Smile

And sometimes, we just ask the same questions on different forums, until we get the answer that we like best
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2014, 5:00 PM   #6
sirota
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereocraig View Post
And sometimes, we just ask the same questions on different forums, until we get the answer that we like best
I have no idea what you mean It's more about getting more brains to chime in with ideas, sometimes the suggestions are unexpected and very interesting.
sirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Sep-2014, 7:25 PM   #7
Stereocraig
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirota View Post
I have no idea what you mean It's more about getting more brains to chime in with ideas, sometimes the suggestions are unexpected and very interesting.
I just found it a bit strange to see your picture in another forum.

There sure is a myriad of info to process.
Some hard and fast and some, which is user specific.
Stereocraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Oct-2014, 4:45 PM   #8
sirota
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 14
Here's the aftermath, nice clean install, grounded. Very happy with it, at night I get stations all the way from San Francisco, 100 miles away (though I don't know exactly where they broadcast from, could be closer).

Thank you everyone for your help and suggestions.

sirota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 9:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC