TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-Mar-2017, 11:50 PM   #1
gaw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Need help with antenna

I need help with an antenna. I bought a channel master CM-3010HD STEALTHtenna 50 and it's working good for most of my locals except CBS. I get pixelation and complete signal loss from time to time. I am splitting the signal to two tv's and I'm using a PCT-MA2-4P AMP.

Here's my signal analysis. http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e6a4a6bf1b8d1d

Thanks for any help you can provide.
gaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 12:53 AM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,270
Welcome, gaw

With signals that strong you shouldn't need an amp, just as passive splitter.

Where is the antenna located?

How long are the coax runs?

Any trees or buildings in the signal path from the east?
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 3:50 AM   #3
gaw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Antenna is in the attic.

Coax runs are 50'

Yes...there are some trees that might be in the direct path.

Just curious why ABC & NBC never pixelate or lose signal?
gaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 9:13 AM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaw View Post
Antenna is in the attic.

Coax runs are 50'

Yes...there are some trees that might be in the direct path.

Just curious why ABC & NBC never pixelate or lose signal?
Attics can be problematic reception environments... Even if there is no metal in the roofing materials or insulation, there will be some signal attenuation and reflections that would be avoided if the antenna was outside. Trees are notorious for causing rapid changes in signal level whenever the wind moves it's limbs or leaves so if possible, avoid aiming through them. (If there is metal in the roofing or insulation, it's not likely that you'll be able to ever get reliable reception from inside the attic.)

I would suggest you try an experiment; Try placing the antenna outside (preferably at or near the roof peak) starting in a location that has the least obstruction due to trees and buildings. For this test, use no amplifier or splitter, just a single piece of coax to one TV set. Once you have a reliable signal to work with in this configuration, you can decide how to get it to each TV...
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 10:51 AM   #5
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,843
Try moving the antenna around and try several different spots. A movement of as little as 6" might be all it takes. Or it might take 6'.... or 16'. One never knows, patience and persistence are required. The amplifier should not be needed but its unlikely to be causing your particular station to have dropouts.

Attics can harbor seemingly random "dead spots" that can affect single channels. I see it seemingly every day.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 3:10 PM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by gaw View Post
Antenna is in the attic.

Coax runs are 50'

Yes...there are some trees that might be in the direct path.

Just curious why ABC & NBC never pixelate or lose signal?
The signal path for CBS is different, because its transmitter is in a different location.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg gawTVFmap.JPG (156.8 KB, 427 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 4:29 PM   #7
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,843
I've run into the exact issue even when the problem transmitter is on the same tower and even when it emanates from the same antenna as a station that is not having problems. Every frequency is affected differently ever-so-slightly by impairments in a given path.

The final few hundred (or dozen) feet can make or break reception. It's usually a mistake to assume that ALL of the incoming signals will arrive perfectly in the particular spot that looked convenient for the placement of a receiving antenna.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 10:11 PM   #8
gaw
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
So you think my current antenna is ok and just try moving it around? The thing is...I cannot have the antenna outside...must be in the attic.
gaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 11:16 PM   #9
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,270
Quote:
The thing is...I cannot have the antenna outside...must be in the attic.
Why?

Continue trying different locations in the attic for your antenna as suggested above.

If that doesn't work, you can upgrade your antenna to one that is more directional to reject multipath reflections in the attic, but I can't guarantee that it will solve the problem. I suggest the Antennas Direct DB4e. It is primarily a UHF antenna; if it doesn't pick up WFAA ABC, you will need to add a VHF-High antenna like the MCM 30-2475 and combine it with the DB4e using a UVSJ UHF/VHF combiner.
http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...-2475-/30-2475

https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...Combiners.html

https://mjsales.net/products/tru-spe...ant=1198505857

If that doesn't work, you will have to go outside or give up.

Can you show us a photo of what the antenna "sees" (like the trees) when it is aimed east?
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 17-Mar-2017 at 11:25 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-Mar-2017, 11:46 PM   #10
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,681
Quote:
...must be in the attic.
As rabbit73 already asked, Why?

The FCC has rules in place that protect your right to install and use an antenna for over the air television reception. https://www.fcc.gov/media/over-air-r...n-devices-rule
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC