TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-Aug-2018, 1:38 AM   #1
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Help with antenna selection

I posted a thread in Dec 2017. This is an update to that. I have a different lot which is close to the other one but this one is actually higher up. I moved my camper there a few months ago. It has a built in "wingbat" antenna on the roof. There is a built in pre amp in the camper. I am able to get some local stations like ion, pbs, and a few others. I am able to pull in cbs from atlanta but not all the time. Any new recommendations for an antenna?

Here's my new report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...903838762dbc22

Here's my old thread: http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16405

I also have a channel master preamp here at my house that I could use. https://www.channelmaster.com/Amplif.../cm-7777hd.htm
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Aug-2018, 3:08 PM   #2
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 237
It has to be up higher but the roof mount of the antenna will not let you do so
So get the camper it self up in a higher eluvashion should work well !!!
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Aug-2018, 5:40 PM   #3
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
It has to be up higher but the roof mount of the antenna will not let you do so
So get the camper it self up in a higher eluvashion should work well !!!
I should have said that this is a permanent location now for the camper.
I noticed that the stations that I want from Atlanta are all UHF and in basically the same location. Would a good UHF only antenna work?
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Aug-2018, 7:21 PM   #4
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 237
Yes go with the solid signal HDB,91 the antenna is on sale with free shipping
And I suggest the channel master 7777-AMP!! And use Rg6, 18 gage solid copper!!!
And use a 3ft tripod on a 10Ft pole? So do a tv Fool report with the Hdb,91,and
The 7777,channel master amp the higth of the camper+the 10ft pole.
Let me know what the tv Fool report is with the ANTENNA set-up?
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Aug-2018, 7:55 PM   #5
jrgagne99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canaan, NH
Posts: 152
Your TV fool report was only resolved to block level, and so it is likely not accurate. Use the instructions in the sticky thread "A reliable method for generating a TV Fool Reception Report" to get a more precise report. Make sure to zoom all the way in and put the push-pin right on the RV site as seen in the satellite imagery. Enter the expected height of the antenna Above Ground Level- AGL (not the antenna type and pre-amp as prior post suggests). Also, please list the stations you wish to receive (by their call letters) so we can make a proper system recommendation.

Last edited by jrgagne99; 30-Aug-2018 at 7:57 PM.
jrgagne99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 1:05 AM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgagne99 View Post
Your TV fool report was only resolved to block level, and so it is likely not accurate.
If you look closely at his TVFool report, you will see his exact address, which is consistent with the fact that he gave the coordinates for his former location in his previous thread.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 1:43 AM   #7
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Welcome back, realjet



Your new location has higher elevation, which should help, but it isn't the highest in your area.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg realjetTVFlocation2.JPG (177.5 KB, 1128 views)
File Type: jpg realjetTVF3locations.JPG (113.0 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg realjetTVFreportTVF2.JPG (118.5 KB, 1099 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 31-Aug-2018 at 1:51 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 2:04 AM   #8
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Welcome back, realjet



Your new location has higher elevation, which should help, but it isn't the highest in your area.

antenna ellijay.png


This is correct. Please forgive me but I'm not that tech savie.
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 2:15 AM   #9
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Will this work? I already have the cable and a mast to put it on.

https://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hdb91x
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 3:11 AM   #10
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by realjet View Post
Will this work? I already have the cable and a mast to put it on.

https://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=hdb91x
That is a good UHF antenna that will work for ION or PBS if you aim it at them, but not for your VHF-High channels from Chattanooga, real channels 13, 9, and 12.

It is the real channel number (also called physical channel or RF channel) that determines what antenna is needed.

VHF-Low, real channels 2-6
VHF-High, real channels 7-13
UHF, real channels 14-51

The virtual channel number (like 5.1 or 5-1) is a holdover from the analog TV days to maintain the identity of the station, and is what the TV displays. By convention, the virtual channel number is given in the decimal form to keep it from being confused with the real channel number.



I suggest a Stellar Labs 30-2476 VHF antenna aimed at Chattanooga and your CM7777HD preamp. It might help to tilt the front end of the antenna up a little to catch the signals coming down from the mountain peak. You can mount the preamp a little lower to reach it more easily and play with the high/low gain button.
https://www.newark.com/stellar-labs/...vhf/dp/71Y5462

If you want ION or PBS, try an Antennas Direct DB4E, combined with your 30-2476 using a UVSJ UHF/VHF combiner between the antennas and the preamp.
https://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Dire.../dp/B008PBTPN4

I can't guarantee that this will work, but it is your best chance.

If the antenna is outside, the coax shield should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety and to reject interference. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge which will tend to discourage a strike, but the system will not survive a direct strike.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg realjetTVFreportRE1.JPG (162.5 KB, 946 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 31-Aug-2018 at 4:21 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 4:15 AM   #11
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
This is the problem with the signals from Chattanooga; there is a mountain in the signal path:

Attached Images
File Type: jpg realjetTVFp2WTVC.JPG (115.5 KB, 935 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 31-Aug-2018 at 4:19 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 5:17 PM   #12
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post

I suggest a Stellar Labs 30-2476 VHF antenna aimed at Chattanooga and your CM7777HD preamp. It might help to tilt the front end of the antenna up a little to catch the signals coming down from the mountain peak.
I agree that the Stellar Labs VHF antenna is a good choice.

This is one of those situations where you can take advantage of ground gain to tilt the signal up instead of tilting the antenna. If you can figure out the optimum height, the ground gain can be as high as 6 db. For this to work, the slope of the land in front of your antenna must also be considered. The angle from your location to the mountain that will reflect the signals from WTVC is about 2 degrees uptilt.

http://www.qsl.net/oz1rh/gndgain/gnd_gain_eme_2002.htm
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Aug-2018, 10:02 PM   #13
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 237
Well I have suggest the HDB,91 which is a uhf only antenna but if you're looking to get
Hi and low band vhf,and looking for the uhf,also go with the Winegrud 8200U ?
With the channel master 7777AMP you will be happy with it lol put this in your tv Fool report and see what you THINK before you buy the antennas that we all have suggest to you!!good luck.
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2018, 2:05 PM   #14
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
Well I have suggest the HDB,91 which is a uhf only antenna but if you're looking to get
Hi and low band vhf,and looking for the uhf,also go with the Winegrud 8200U ?
With the channel master 7777AMP you will be happy with it lol put this in your tv Fool report and see what you THINK before you buy the antennas that we all have suggest to you!!good luck.
How do I put this in my tv fool report?
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2018, 5:17 PM   #15
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 237
Just like the antenna you put in
The first time but put in hdb.91
Or 8200u with a channel master
7777AMP!!??
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2018, 7:58 PM   #16
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,074
I don’t see the possibility of picking up any low land stations(channels 2-6). Therefore the huge 8200U is much too big and too expensive. I’d use the Stellar Labs antenna aimed at Chattanooga, and then add a UHF antenna aimed whereever you desire to receive a UHF station.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2018, 9:28 PM   #17
realjet
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascarken View Post
Just like the antenna you put in
The first time but put in hdb.91
Or 8200u with a channel master
7777AMP!!??
I'm sorry but I never put a antenna in. I don't see where to.
realjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Sep-2018, 5:03 AM   #18
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by realjet View Post
I'm sorry but I never put a antenna in. I don't see where to.
The reason you don't see where to put your antenna in your report is because there is no place to put it in. You can put your antenna height above ground, but not your actual antenna.

The report assumes that a simple dipole antenna is being used, and gives Noise Margin and signal power based on that. You can add your actual antenna gain to those numbers after you receive your report to see how much it will help.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Sep-2018, 12:33 PM   #19
Nascarken
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tower Guy View Post
I donít see the possibility of picking up any low land stations(channels 2-6). Therefore the huge 8200U is much too big and too expensive. Iíd use the Stellar Labs antenna aimed at Chattanooga, and then add a UHF antenna aimed whereever you desire to receive a UHF station.
Ha tower Guy!!but soon low vhf will TACK off !!!
And maybe he should probably tack a look at the king Jack design for
The camper with it's new single finder and IT'S RECEIVE of,70 miles.
It's just a lot better than the batwing,ANTENNA lol!!!!
Nascarken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-Sep-2018, 2:37 PM   #20
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,074
What does TACK off mean?
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC