TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7-Dec-2017, 8:56 PM   #1
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Need help getting in channel 13

I live in a hilly area near Greenville, SC and am located about half way down a hill with the hilltop being to the north. I am also surrounded by trees. I have a hd8200u mounted on the roof roughly 25' above ground with a rotor. I am not able to get a decent signal from channel 13 located in Ashville, however, I get channel 31 just fine along with about 38 other channels. I am wondering if there is something I can do with my current setup to get channel 13 reception or do I need to try a different antenna? Here is my location... http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...60edcee7171cb0

Thanks for your help, Russ
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Dec-2017, 10:32 PM   #2
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 240
Hi Russ,

The tv fool database has been missing major and minor stations
recently. Hard to tell if there are other ABC stations you might try.
You mention you get channel 31. W31DY looks like a translator for
WLOS TV13. If that is correct and assuming the tv fool report is
accurate, you are in a weak signal area for WLOS's main transmitter
signal. That is why there is a translator nearby. The tv fool report
indicates a 2 edge signal at your location. That means the main signal
is reflected away from you twice or more. With the trees and hill,
it is no surprise you are having trouble with WLOS. I doubt any
other antenna will do as well or better. You could try some kind
of amplification but if you are receiving ABC via the Rf31 translator
why go thru the expense and bother????
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2017, 1:48 AM   #3
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Well, actually I meant channel 33 WUNF-TV, which main tower is in the same location. Not sure if there is a repeater that is closer for 33.
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2017, 11:52 AM   #4
JoeAZ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 240
You may want to call or email WLOS and talk to one of their
engineers. They can tell you if they have any translators
near enough to you for consistent reception. As I previously
mentioned, the database for tv fool has recently become
problematic with missing and erroneous information.
JoeAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2017, 4:32 PM   #5
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
OK, thanks Joe
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2017, 4:54 PM   #6
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
I called WLOS. They have a translator in Simpsonville. The engineer says it's a flip of the coin whether you get a better signal from Pisgah or Simpsonville. I'll give it a try and see what happens.
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2017, 1:08 AM   #7
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,191
Hello, Russ

The channel list for your location from RabbitEars.info is probably more accurate:



The FCC DTV maps site doesn't list translators



What network are you looking for, ABC? W31DY in Pickens has it if you can't get WLOS:

http://www.rabbitears.info/market.ph...callsign=w31dy

It's a wonder you get anything with your antenna at 20 feet in all those trees:



You have some strong local FM transmitters that might be causing interference to WLOS on real channel 13:
http://www.fmfool.com/modeling/tmp/3...6/Radar-FM.png

An FM filter might help:
https://www.antennasdirect.com/store...on_filter.html
Attached Images
File Type: jpg russhgTVFreportRE.JPG (185.1 KB, 446 views)
File Type: jpg russhgTVFtrees.JPG (203.0 KB, 428 views)
File Type: jpg russhgTVFreportFCC.JPG (119.1 KB, 424 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 9-Dec-2017 at 2:09 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2017, 4:28 AM   #8
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Thanks for the info. I prefer WLOS for local programs. It's funny that I can get nearly everything on that list but 13 WLOS. I get 33.1 very clear. As far as FM interference, thats a very good possibility but why just 13? Does Hi-V band with my particular antenna have anything to do with it? I am pointed right at 324 degrees and get all the other stations in but 13.
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2017, 7:19 PM   #9
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,191
Quote:
As far as FM interference, thats a very good possibility but why just 13?
The FM band is between VHF-Low channel 6 and VHF-High channel 7. Strong FM transmitters are more likely to cause interference to channels 7-13 than UHF channels.

They can cause interference from fundamental overload or from a second harmonic of an FM transmitter.

The second harmonic of WYRD-FM on 106.3 MHz is 212.6 MHz. Channel 13 is 210 to 216 MHz, but WYRD-FM is not one of your strongest FM channels, so the interference would more likely be from fundamental overload from the stronger FM transmitters.

WLOS, on real channel 13, is your weakest VHF-High channel.

To test the theory, insert an FM filter/trap.

Another possible source of interference to WLOS is electrical interference, which is worse on VHF than UHF. It can be caused by LED and CFL lamps, switchmode power adapters, electrical motors, & etc. You can listen for noise on a clear frequency on an AM broadcast band portable radio.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 10-Dec-2017 at 7:31 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2017, 9:00 PM   #10
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Again, thanks for the info. I was just about to ask if anybody new what the frequency is for channel 13. I will order the FM filter and give it a try. My antenna wire runs directly from the antenna to the tv tuner. Where would be the best place to place the filter?
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Dec-2017, 10:52 PM   #11
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,191
Near the TV would be convenient.

antenna > long coax > grounding block > coax > FM filter > short coax > TV

If the antenna is outside, the coax shield should be grounded with a grounding block that is connected to the house electrical system ground with 10 gauge copper wire for electrical safety and to reject interference. For further compliance with the electrical code (NEC), the mast should also be grounded in a similar manner to drain any buildup of static charge which will tend to discourage a strike, but the system will not survive a direct strike.

__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 10-Dec-2017 at 10:57 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Dec-2017, 4:49 PM   #12
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Good News!!!

While waiting on the FM trap, I started experimenting with the antenna pointing direction, (winegard 8200). I normally got my best signal for 13 while pointing the antenna just west of 324 degrees, something like 318. Last night, I decided to leave the tuner set to 13 and do a complete sweep counter clockwise while watching the signal meter on the tuner. I was getting absolutely no signal strength until just before reaching full north. All of a sudden I got a huge spike. I got the best signal strength right at 4 degrees. I don't remember having done that before for 13 and I never would have expected any decent results being pointed at least 40 degrees north of the target. But I must say I am impressed and thrilled. I checked it out again in the middle of the day just to make sure it wasn't a fluke and I'm still getting great reception. I'm pulling in channel 17 as well. I don't understand why it's working so well at 4 degrees north but what can I say, it works!!!
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Dec-2017, 7:45 PM   #13
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 273
Signals don't always travel in straight lines. They can bounce off of and get twisted around from buildings, hills, trees roof tops, etc. Both from the vertical and horizontal directions.

I get my best reception about 30 degrees off the straight as arrow aiming, and pointing up a few degrees from level.
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Dec-2017, 8:01 PM   #14
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbb View Post
Signals don't always travel in straight lines. They can bounce off of and get twisted around from buildings, hills, trees roof tops, etc. Both from the vertical and horizontal directions.

I get my best reception about 30 degrees off the straight as arrow aiming, and pointing up a few degrees from level.
I never thought about vertical. Not sure how to try pointing up a few degrees with the antenna chimney mounted on mast and rotator?
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Dec-2017, 8:10 PM   #15
jrgagne99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Canaan, NH
Posts: 120
Some antennas have brackets that allow for slight upward tilt. Try doing it manually first. If it makes a big improvement, you could custom fabricate something.
jrgagne99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Dec-2017, 3:14 AM   #16
russhg
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgagne99 View Post
Some antennas have brackets that allow for slight upward tilt. Try doing it manually first. If it makes a big improvement, you could custom fabricate something.
I appreciate that. We'll give it a try.
russhg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 7:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC