TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Jan-2020, 1:42 PM   #1
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 41
Question Question? attaching Balun to preamp

Too much time on my hands to think... However would there be a benefit to mounting the Balun to the preamp using a Male/Male connector and eliminating the short length of Coax?

Thanks

Olnick
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jan-2020, 4:21 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
In practice... No. At 600 MHz, the top of the OTA TV band, RG-6U will have about 5 dB of loss for every 100 feet. So 10 feet would have only 0.5 dB of loss. If your signal is already that close to the edge of the 'digital cliff' you should be looking for ways to move your antenna to a location with better quality signals.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jan-2020, 9:15 PM   #3
olnick
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 41
Thats my issue! I'm at the cliff for ch 34 (25.1) it is hit or miss in reception!! I'm looking to keep as much of the available signal as possible. That is my reason for asking about the direct mount of the Balun to the preamp! Would I gain more by trying to catch the "layer" that provides a better signal with raising and or lowering the antenna? All the other channels come in good enough EXCEPT the one I really want (25.1)
olnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jan-2020, 2:37 AM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
The cost of direct connection is very low, one connector, So trying it is not something I can argue against... I just don't expect a 0.5 dB improvement to produce a noticeable change in reception reliability.

The cost of changing the location or height of the antenna is most likely to cost a bit more in terms of time, effort and money... But I believe that's going to have a much better chance of improving your situation.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 5:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC